Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey ialso a new member but have been coming to this sirtte for awhile now i need some serious help I have a 03 focus the problem started a while ago i am a mechanic bit can't figure this out for the life of me I no the problem has to do with the pats well the milage on the dashboard blinks with dash lines no numbeds the red thEFT light blinks then stags solid car will not sart but i can leave the battery diconeccted for a day then everythings is k to normal after everything is cleard but after an hour or six hours or after shitting it on and off right back to where I was also when the antitheft comes on the CPU will not read at all just says error even when i use our snapon scanner I need any help I can get I've been told keys need to be reprogrammed along with the ecu aLSO been told my ecu is bad

·
C2H5OH
11,867 Posts
Please proofread.

The misnomer that dashes in the dash means PATS has run rampant on the internet and apparently is law. Fact of the matter is, all the dashes mean is that the gauge cluster lost communication with the ECU. Nothing more or less.
So the dashes can simply be a fuse issue or a poor connection.

The only correlation will be that if the gauge cluster has dashed that you will not get a scan tool to work. This is because it's the same wiring to the DLC as the gauge cluster.
And if that is the case then it's a good bed it's a fuse problem ... IIRC it's a some 5 or 10 amp fuse in the passenger fuse box; see owners manual for location.

If that isn't the problem, check grounds. The main grounds for the ECU are on the passenger kick panel. Generally no problems with them.
There is a little Black/Orange coming off the negative at the battery that does go missing from time to time. It goes into the harness that runs under the airbox. It's also a ECU ground IIRC.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4