Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey! im new to the FF forums and i have another question that deals with intake manifolds for the focus. I know there are mixed opinions about it, but I really like the weapon - r intake manifold because of the longer runners design as opposed to the cossie manifold with its short runners. I also understand that the weapon - r IM is for use with drive by wire throttle bodies. Is there anyway to make it work with my 04 D23?? Thanks!

·
Registered
582 Posts
i am right there with you man, if i knew i could get the weapon r to work on my car, id buy it tomorrow. the big concerns are- 1. does the tb with a cables mounting holes line up with the dbw tb, would it mount right or would holes need drilled, etc. 2. theres no iac mount with dbw intakes/tbs. can you tune this out with a custom tune and run the idle with the stop screw with no adverse affects on your car?
these are the things i could come up with to look into

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, my main concern is that there is no IAC valve mount. I've read mixed things on not having the IAC valve too. I'm not too concerned about making a few modifications to it but there's no way i'm spending the money until I know beforehand.

·
Registered
198 Posts
I did the knock off IM. Makes good power for the price. Do loose some tq. I have a 2.0 in a 05. I posted up before and after dynos of the car. Hopeful it help you out. If you have any question about the ebay IM just ask.

·
Registered
240 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Which knockoff IM did you try? The godspeed one that looks like the cossie? I'm curious to know what kind of numbers it can give but then again, because it is like the cossie, the runners are short.

·
Registered
198 Posts