Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm learning more and more this motor and I found out or trying to verify that the 2.3 has two cats on it. One on one by the header and then there is another one after the flex that has two hangers mounted to it on either side. My question is because I have been trying to get some deeper tone out of my car an I have done the lunch box delete and added a Magnaflow muffler. Are there 02 sensors mounted on the forward cat or the cat that has the hangers on either side. The other question is would it really a difference to delete that second cat and if I do it should not hurt the readings off the 02 sensor because it reads before and right after the first cat to make mixture adjustments correct. Please bear with me I am new to all this car stuff besides changing the oil growing up lol. I am in the mechanics program at my local college but we have not touched thus stuff yet.

·
Registered
1,149 Posts
Second cat is unmetered, there are no sensors to it. I deleted mine (the FSWerks exhaust has a resonator in its place) with no ill effect; CEL doesn't come on, and the car passed emissions tests with flying colors two times after the install.

·
Registered
4,416 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Would I need the resonator with the Magnaflow muffler in there or would it still give it more tone taking the second cat put.

·
w/ my magic bag
29,472 Posts
Second cat is unmetered, there are no sensors to it. I deleted mine (the FSWerks exhaust has a resonator in its place) with no ill effect; CEL doesn't come on, and the car passed emissions tests with flying colors two times after the install.
This^^^^^^^^
Yes. 2 cats. First one is called a mani-cat because it is an exhaust manifold & it is also a cat. You have three 02 sensors on your PZEV, all three are mounted on the mani-cat. The second cat can be replaced with a resonator if you wanted to.
This^^^^^^^^^^