Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys,

So a few days ago my SVT got broken into and the aftermarket radio was stolen. I'm trying to replace it myself and not have to give BBuy my money to do something I know I can do myself.

Before the radio was stolen everything was working, including the stock subwoofer in the car and the steering wheel controls. I've never done any radio wiring before, but I'm more than capable of doing it myself if I know what parts I need and a general walkthrough.

The radio I had in the car before was the Alpine CDE-143BT, I'm going to buy that same radio again because I know it worked with the subwoofer and steering wheel, which as far as I can tell is something of an issue with this model car.

I've attached photos of what is left in the dash after the car was broken into.

There is also a black box wired into one of those plugs that makes the steering wheel controls work properly.

Thanks for the help guys!

·
8 DAY HOMECOMING
13,126 Posts
Crutchfield.com will work for you real well. Includes a wiring harness, antennae adaptor, all for free with the purchase of the radio. It also shows what head unit will fit and which won't.

As for steering wheel controls, Im not sure about. Just look at the descriptions. Thats where I get everything for my car.

·
Dat boxer rumble
3,451 Posts
You will need an axxess aswc to get the steering wheel controls to work. Their documentation has everything you need to know.

There are a few tutorials on here about hooking up the sub as well.

If you havent done anything of this nature before, then you might consider finding a friend. It's not difficult work, but its not entry level either.

·
Super Moderator
9,566 Posts