Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,011 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just ordered an AEM Wideband, and I'm concerned about how I'm going to be installing this.

I searched around, but couldn't find a write up or how to on this. If anyone could help me out or point me in the right direction, it would be really appreciated.

I'll be installing this on a Zetec, replacing the second O2 sensor.

Basically, a full writeup would be nice, but if not, I do have a few major questions.

1) Will I need to drill or weld anything on the exhaust? (Note, I have the cat in, and I've been told by tom that I will need to weld in a bung in front of the cat. Where should I do this, and should I just take it to a shop and have them do it, seeing as I have zero experience with anything like this).
2) How can I get the wiring into the cabin for the gauge? Is there a place I should drill, a way to do it without drilling?
3) How can I get power to the gauge?

I'm not exactly familiar with this sort of thing, so the idea of this has me a bit nervous. Any help or pointers would be appreciated! (Pics especially!!)

·
Registered
221 Posts
1. If your usuing the second o2 bung you should just be able to remove the second o2 and replace it with the new one. Its threaded.

2. I drilled around where the gas pedal is. up aginst the firewall going to the engine bay. Then I just ran the wire to my gauge pod. Just make sure when your drilling you know where its going to come out, dont want to hit anytthing inpostant. Mine came out by my heatshelid of my exhaust.

3. your going to have to find wire someware. I found wire around where the fuse box is, under the steering wheel. Then you need to use a multimeter or a test light to see which wire has power when you turn the car on. Once you find that wire splice it and connect it to the 12V red line of the gauge and then ground the black wire. the other 2 wires are for datalogging.