Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Focus owners, I'm Jake. It's my first post. I may have overlooked this information, but I don't have very much time to browse the forums. Please take the time to read this and help me out. I would really appreciate it.

I am supposed to pick up a 2003 Focus SVT 3 door in the next few days.

There is a problem with the car, and quite honestly, I'm not a mechanic, and I'm nervous about getting in over my head.

The car has 45,xxx miles, and the problem is with the transmission. It will not go into fourth gear. The seller told me that he's been reading online (on this forum) and that people have a lot of trouble with the linkage in the shifters. He linked me to the thread about removing the counterweight, possibly suggesting that this may be the problem.

The history on the car is that it was wrecked in the front. Enough to the total the car, but not enough to even break either of the headlights. He says that at one point, he had the car going into fourth gear, and after a few hundred miles, it just kept getting more and more difficult to get in gear, until eventually it just "scratches" and will not pop into gear.

He says that the previous owner had the transmission "gone through" and the clutch was replaced.

It shifts into all of the other gears smoothly. Could this just be a linkage problem? if so...what is the fix? Or am I getting myself into position to be replacing a transmission? also...Is it a bad idea to drive the car right now? Will I be doing more damage to the transmission?

What do you guys think? The car is a good deal, but not if I'd be having to put a few thousand into the transmission (I don't have a few thousand).

Hopefully I can be a part of the Focus enthusiast team very soon! Thanks for your help!

-Jake

·
Registered
698 Posts
Its not the counterweight.