Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, thank you for everyone who participates in this fourm. I have been coming here for 3 months now(since i got my focus) for information and ideas. Its awesome to have such great resources!

Now to my question.

Today when i was driving home from work, i was cut off by some idiot and forced to downshift and brake. After downshifting i attempted to switch gears and merge off the highway. It wouldn't shift out of gear. I make it off the highway, and attempt to shift, and after having some serious issues getting it to go into a gear, i turned the car off, and shifted the transmission with no power to anything it shifted fine. I made it home(thank god its less than a mile from where this all happened to my house) in first gear the whole way. I parked went inside and had some lunch. Came out and shifted through the gears with the car off, and everything went great. Then i went for a drive around the block, it was going through the gears fine, with a little more than normal resistance. Then all of a sudden when shifting from 3rd to 2nd i lost the transmission completely. I can move the shifter in the car freely into all the gears and positions, but there is nothing at the clutch, acting like the cars in Neutral. Any thoughts to what this problem might be? I am going to pull the inside cover tonight and see if its the linkage or something simple, but as for any other ideas i am at a complete loss. [mad]

·
Registered
1,380 Posts
any sounds when it happened?
so you clutch pedals feels like nothing is there or it just doesn't seem to change anything?
"move freely into all gears and positions" you mean still does the H pattern but no resistance or you can do circles with the shifter?

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·