Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Dumbledore dies?!?!
3,123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As some of you might have seen in the showroom section, I purchased a 84 6.2 silverado. The 6.2 is a v8-diesel motor. I got the truck started after 3 days, then came to find out that the engine had a cracked block. I stitched the crack and sure enough there were 3 other cracks. I am assuming it was ran hot... Thanks to someone who helped me previously by providing a site, car-part.com, I was able to purchase a freshly rebuilt 91 6.2 out of a gm. It arrived yesterday and this morning I had it prepped to go in. My 3 ton cherry picker showed up tonight. So tomorrow I begin my venture. The plans for tomorrow are to unbolt the transmission, pull the engine, switch the pulleys and flywheel/torque converter to the new engine. If all goes, I may venture dropping the motor back tomorrow also, and finish the wiring, oil hook ups, etc the next day.

This is my first time dealing with a diesel motor, but the concept of swapping the motor is the same, except you HAVE to have both batteries fully charged, because the motor has to be cranked several times to prime the injection pump...

Oh yea on a last note, since this is a NA diesel, I am thinking about pulling the injector pump and advancing the timing. If I don't do it now I will do it once its in the truck. Wish me luck, heres some starter pics!

·
Registered
11,906 Posts
Good Luck, I'm dreading the day I have to pull my Cummins out... hopefully i still have a couple of hundred thousand miles left in it.

·
Dumbledore dies?!?!
3,123 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm assuming you have your diesel turned up? haha. I'm getting something to dtrink right now to start the morning off in about 30 minutes.. I'm hoping to get the motor out by 1

·
Obama Can't Gymkhana
8,569 Posts
Wow.. Its after one.. Any Progress...? Good Luck.. Thats a Big Engine

·
Dumbledore dies?!?!
3,123 Posts
Discussion Starter #6