Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey I have a 2014 focus titanium. When I turn the steering wheel back and fourth, it makes a grinding noise. It does it when the car is on and off. I hacked it up and it still does it. Any ideas? I'm new to the focus world and could use some help. It seems to work fine, just makes noise. The car had 18k miles. The rims have some curb rash but as far a I know it's never been hit in the wheels. Thanks

·
Registered
79 Posts
Did you check the fluid. Still under warranty???????
There is no fluid in MK3 Foci power steering systems. They are Epass systems, all electric

·
Registered
580 Posts
Hey I have a 2014 focus titanium. When I turn the steering wheel back and fourth, it makes a grinding noise. It does it when the car is on and off. I hacked it up and it still does it. Any ideas? I'm new to the focus world and could use some help. It seems to work fine, just makes noise. The car had 18k miles. The rims have some curb rash but as far a I know it's never been hit in the wheels. Thanks
Do you have tears or cuts in your boots (bellows)?

Grinding sounds like rust or debris inside the gear. Are efforts higher?

Or is the sound coming from the column?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It sounds like a bad bearing in the rack that spins fairly fast when you turn the wheel. Is it possible to take the rack apart, or are there at least instructions on removing if from the car? I can probably figure it out but it's easier to have instructions.

·
Registered
580 Posts
It sounds like a bad bearing in the rack that spins fairly fast when you turn the wheel. Is it possible to take the rack apart, or are there at least instructions on removing if from the car? I can probably figure it out but it's easier to have instructions.
You cannot, I repeat CANNOT, take the rack apart.