Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off this is not really a complaint but more of a question. I LOVE MY CAR!
That being said has anyone experienced their car hesitating and trying to downshift while driving up a hill or incline? I have a steep gravel driveway and the car seems to stop or hesitate and then try to downshift causing the wheels to spin while climbing my driveway. It makes me a bit nervous for the winter. I may be causing some of the wheel spinning since I put on the gas when the car hesitates. Yes I am a female driver but my husband has experienced the same issue. The car only has 300 miles on it and I thought the trans may need to break in.
I am hesitant to take it in for service since the dealership could not even put the mud guards on correctly.

·
Registered
788 Posts
First off this is not really a complaint but more of a question. I LOVE MY CAR!
That being said has anyone experienced their car hesitating and trying to downshift while driving up a hill or incline? I have a steep gravel driveway and the car seems to stop or hesitate and then try to downshift causing the wheels to spin while climbing my driveway. It makes me a bit nervous for the winter. I may be causing some of the wheel spinning since I put on the gas when the car hesitates. Yes I am a female driver but my husband has experienced the same issue. The car only has 300 miles on it and I thought the trans may need to break in.
I am hesitant to take it in for service since the dealership could not even put the mud guards on correctly.
I've experienced a downshift when climbing a paved incline not gravel so no wheel spin and it downshifted fine with no noticeable hesitation. Maybe it has to do with the loose road surface. If you can remember, try using the Select Shift and put it in lower gear before you start climbing the hill, see if that prevents the hesitation and wheel spin.

·
Registered
418 Posts