Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm a newb when it comes to cars but I can do basic stuff like oil changes and I can swap out my all-season tires for winter ones.

So, I was trying to do that today when I found out my 19mm socket wouldn't fit any of my lug nuts. Turns out when I had my brakes and rotors replaced by my mechanic (or perhaps his apprentice, I don't know), all four lug nuts had been warped.

I went to Lordco and Canadian Tire and both service advisors there had said it's common for this to happen as they aren't built to take that much wear and tear, but with Ford vehicles there is a "tin cap" on the lug nut to make them prettier and thus they tend to warp easier.

Any how, do you guys have any suggestions on where to buy a new set? Both places want at least $6 per lug nut.

Thank you in advance!

·
Registered
15 Posts
I bought the above lugs as well and will be putting them on once I get them in the mail. I prefer ebay, so I bought them there with free shipping for $25. They're solid, no caps so they shouldn't warp as quickly as the OEMs.

·
Registered
155 Posts
The Canada Tire guys were right, Ford used defective lug nuts on the Focus as well as a few other models. There was a class action lawsuit at one point but it was thrown out. I have two Focuses, one I just had the local tire shop replace (maybe $25 for the set of 20?), on the other Focus I used McGard lug nuts (about $65 on Amazon for 20).

·
Registered
398 Posts
My son has had the DP lug nuts on his 13 Focus for the last two years and they are excellent.

I have the McGard lug nuts on my Focus and they are also an excellent, but more expensive, option.

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
My son has had the DP lug nuts on his 13 Focus for the last two years and they are excellent.

I have the McGard lug nuts on my Focus and they are also an excellent, but more expensive, option.