Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I recently bought a 2009 Silver Ford Focus SE back in Feb of this year. Since around a week or so ago, I have been experiencing some issues lately where the dashboard Engine, Battery, and oil lights would suddenly come on, and the engine would shut off while i'm either driving, reversing, or making a turn which also makes the steering wheel lock up. Also seems to me as if it's happening more so when I sometimes press down on the brakes. If I put the car in neutral or park, and turn the key, the engine will turn on without issue. Also took the car to AutoZone and had both the battery and alternator checked, and they told me both were fine.

I called a mechanic friend of mines to check the issue for me, as I'm not really an expert on cars. He plugged some device into the OEM port, and was getting a p1780 code, we then popped the hood and to find out the engine is misfiring, when he opened up all 4 the spark plug wells, we found out oil has been leaking into all of them. He drained as much of the oil as he could, cleaned the spark plugs as well and put everything back. I went and took it yesterday to my local Ford dealer to have them check it out. This is the second time I had take it there, back in April they had to replace the ignition lock module due to the car not starting up sometimes. This time I had both the horn and the valve cover gasket replaced. And apparently the error code my mechanic friend was receiving had somehow been wiped from the system, so they we're not getting any errors at all when they checked. Was also told that I needed all 3 powertrain mounts installed, which I declined due to it being so expensive to have that job done through them. After picking the car from there earlier this morning, and $490 dollars later, I've had the engine shut off on me three times today while driving.[:(!] This is infuriating as all hell. So I'm here wondering if any