Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I'm new and I jus got a 2008 focus s and I wanna drop it I've been looking around and I hear a lot about the frpp kit but I can't find it for sale anywhere so I've been looking at some Megan coils but the only problem is that their off a 2006 so my question is that if the 06 springs will fit in my 08 or do I need 08 plus coils? Also wat r good shocks and struts to use wen u lower these cars?

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
Different size tops to the springs, so the earlier model spring top hat & bearing are required to use them.

Struts fit from '06-'11

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So what r some decent struts and shocks to use if I drop it 1.5 inches? OEM prolly wouldn't last long on drop coils rite? Srry I'm new to this I'm used to lifting trucks and making them desert worthy haha

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
No to springs without the top hat & bearing for the '06 model.

Mount & bearing are usually replaced when doing struts/springs, so the only extra cost is the plate for the top of the spring that the '08 doesn't use (different bearing that includes spring mount).

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
^^^ yup, you need a bearing at the strut mount.

Springs turn with the struts as you steer, the mount stays fixed, so a bearing goes between to make turning smooth.

If there was no bearing, you'd be winding up the spring when steering. When a bearing goes bad, you hear a "sproing" as the spring twists then suddenly releases as it overcomes friction & turns at the top.

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
General on springs/shocks.

They work best when matched, so the shock (strut) damps the movement of the suspension well.