Focus Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
General information that I would like to present first.
I am NOT a mechanic, I don't know a whole lot about cars (I can change my oil by myself and that's about the extent of my knowledge)
My father is a mechanic and can help me get information if needed. He, however, cannot hear the sound that I am describing due to age.

My Focus has 80,000 miles on it.
I've had this vehicle for just one year so far, and this has started happening within the last 4 months.

What happens/Description of issue:
When driving at low speeds (between 5 and 30 mph) I hear a high pitched whining/whistling noise and cannot detect from which side of my Focus it is coming from. This noise does increase in volume when shifting gears (automatic) I believe that would be 2nd gear (I am THAT bad with cars) around 20-25 mph. This also happens more when turning from a stop.
I don't exactly know what this may be, but would appreciate ANY suggestions that I may be able to bring to my father to help out with this issue and help resolve it.

Thanks,
Garbanaian

EDIT: Updates from replies.

My father has checked belts in the past but saw nothing wrong. Will advise to check again as this is another person who suggests the same things.

Only things done since the sound has started has been: Oil changes, and new tires. Tires were put on yesterday (the 28th) so this doesn't seem to be related to tires.

EDIT 2:
Will ask my father to check power steering and see if he has the ability to look into the transmission.

I had a friend ride with me really quick on my lunch and he did hear the sound (so I'm not going crazy)
He said it may have something to do with the break "squealers" perhaps.
He does state it's coming from the front end of the vehicle though.
I'm going to have my dad sit in with me since I can recreate the sound now.

It is most noticeable with the front windows down.