Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK I am very new to this, but any info on my ford focus would be helpful. I cant find anyone that has the right answers. I bought my car in NY and im guessing it is a 2.0. First question is, will I get better proformace changing the air intake, Apparently I have a lifetime filter, not even sure what that is. I am also going to be changing fluids and I have a manual trans and not really sure what is supposed to be used, and it seems ford dealers are not even sure. Anyhow any info on this car would be helpful.

·
w/ my magic bag
29,472 Posts
Welcome!!!!

More than likley a 2.0L, nothing wrong w/ that. What does it say on the trunk deck or hatch? etc= S, SE, SES, or ST? As far as your intake filter goes, yes you have a lifetime filter. Ford designed that filter to cut down on owner maintence= no performance, you try breathing thru that. 2 style's of intake's = CAI= cold air intake & SRI= short ram intake. Focuswerk's has a great CAI & Steeda has a great SRI. Either one w/ make a difference in performance & MPG. You can't go wrong w/ either. Have you read the new member stickey's at the top?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, I am really having a hard time finding people to help me work on this car, due to some of the things they did to it to make emisions better.

·
Registered
401 Posts
There is absolutely nothing wrong with the lifetime air filter on these cars! Unless you enjoy more noise, fiddling with cleaning and re-oiling a so called performance filter, cleaning your sensors because of before mentioned oil as it migrates down the intake tract, and hiding in the house whenever it rains because of water ingestion. The engine makes 136 hp folks lets get real.

·
w/ my magic bag
29,472 Posts