Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The flex pipe on my son's Canadian 05 Focus 2.0 is leaking and it looks like it's actually part of the manifold / cat assembly. I want to weld in a new flex section but it looks like I'd have to pull the whole thing out to do it. Before getting started, I'd like to know whats involved, any thoughts?

·
Registered
4,397 Posts
I have no experience with this (especially the Canadian models) but I did have a thought. I "thought" the OEM configuration had the flex pipe assembly as a bolt-on. I just did a search for aftermarket parts, and it seems the flex pipe can be a bolt-on OR can be welded onto the mani-cat assembly.

In your situation, yes, you would have to remove the mani-cat, in order to weld-on a new flex pipe.

Pictures are examples only, not OEM parts.

https://www.amazon.com/Dorman-674-702-Exhaust-Manifold-Kit/dp/B004AILX5O

and here is a (Walker) manifold that does not have a bolt-on flex pipe

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes, it looks like the California spec setup has a bolt on flex pipe but mine does not. Just wondering if the mani-cat will come out from under the hood with relative ease?

·
Registered
4,397 Posts
I do not know, -I have never done it. I am guessing the mani-cat can only come out via the bottom of the car; least on my car.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I do not know, -I have never done it. I am guessing the mani-cat can only come out via the bottom of the car; least on my car.
I hope thats not the case, the gap between the sub frame and the floor doesnt look wide enough to pull the mani-cat through so that would mean dropping the sub frame. Hoping someone can confirm that it will come out the top.

·
Registered
1,214 Posts
Here's an idea-

Cut the flex off of the current exhaust, pull all of it out, weld a flange on the mani-cat, then buy the flex with a flange on it.