Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would appreciate any insight on this current issue.. when in Low idle while at a light the car occasionally stalls after the interior exterior lights flicker for a few seconds..
.. another issue is I could be cruising and all the sudden there's a "boom" and the check engine light comes on.. there's a quick loss of power but its regained in 2-3 seconds..
Had the alternator changed recently and new battery and all the cables are hooked up properly. Sensors? Fuel Pump? any feedback would be great.. novice here so I'll have to find a good ford guy in Socal... Thanks!

·
Registered
4,415 Posts
Yuk, whata' mess. Sounds like more than one problem. Also sounds like an electrical charging/powering problem, which might include some bad connections or wires touching each other (shorting out).

One first step (and Free) is to perform a slow and careful visual inspection of the engine bay for damaged wires, or bad looking connections; i.e., corrosion or dirty, funky-oily? Any chance you could take about 5 or 6 detailed pics of your engine bay and post them here?

Next, take your car to a big name car part store and they will scan your car for free. Write down the DTC's that are found and post them here.

... another issue is I could be cruising and all the sudden there's a "boom" and the check engine light comes on.. there's a quick loss of power but its regained in 2-3 seconds..
Are you in East LA? Are you absolutely sure those are not gun shots?

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
You need to repair the engine operating problem IMHO.

Flickering lights aren't unusual when it is running very slowly & about to stall.

How long since any maint.?

This could be as simple as needing new spark plugs (or wires, or coil, or coil connector, going up through the list of common ignition failures).