Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone!

My GF has a 2002 4 door Focus. I'm pretty sure it has a 2.2L in it. It's been sitting in a garage for about 2 years due to a convoluted bankruptcy/multi state divorce.

Anyway, it won't start. The battery was dead so I put a new one in it. It'll try to start but won't start. The starter goes, but that's it.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. I have some car work experience but nothing with starting/fuel work.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
21,235 Posts
A: no 2.2 was ever installed in a Focus, only a DOHC and SOHC 2.0.

First off, I would pull the spark plugs. Generally I can start a car that's been sitting for a long while without any spark plug issues, but let's go there first. Clean the plugs with a wire brush or a knife, check the gap on all. Put the plugs back in, and hook the wires up. I'd also check the ignition to be sure that all the wiring is connected to the coil.

Really, you should change the fuel filter, but you should be able to get it started without changing the filter. If you do change the filter, you'll need to change it again within a month because all the crud on the bottom of the fuel tank will eventually end up in the filter. The filter is located under the car in front of the passenger rear wheel, it is just in front of the fuel tank. A 5/16 or 8mm with extension will remove the bracket, to release the clips press on the flat part of the clip and pull.