Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all I am new to owning a ford focus. Real quick here's the deal. I bought a non running 2000 focus se for 150 bucks. I'm pretty sure it's the fuel pump based on what he said happened. The engine turns over and everything BUT it makes a puff of smoke right near the firewall on the passenger side when you first turn the key. (I am replacing the pump next week when I am off work. Does anyone have an idea on what that puff of smoke could be? I am hoping it's not a timing belt as I don't think I am experienced enough to attempt that.
Any help is appreciated it seems like a good little car and I'd hate to have to scrap it. Thanks in advance!

Matthew

·
Registered
4,409 Posts
Before you get a fuel pump, you must...

Have engine timing checked & perform a compression test.

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
X2

No-one can guess further without more info., including what engine is in the car.

·
Premium Member
44,595 Posts
OK, that helps

Read up in this area on potential problems, and you'll know why compression check is a first step before spending $ on the car:http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=42

It SHOULD be done for any car when you don't know it's condition. Either possible engine has a timing belt that could be a problem & the SPI has a possible valve seat issue as well.

Compression check lets you know if the engine is in good condition mechanically or not. If you confirm it's in good shape that justifies spending on the car to get it running again.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #6