Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well ive been doing paint and body work for over 6 years now and yesterday at the shop me n the boys we re at lunch and there was a bet that i couldnt do a black stripe on my 08 for under 10 bucks in materials. being the perfectionist i am and knowing the skills i have a did it . and please no boys no trolling here i undestand some wouldnt do this but its easy for me to take off as this is what i do for a living so it wasnt a huge deal .

materials:

SEMI gloss black duplicolor spray paint: 5.99

painters thin line tape: 1.99 (painters discount)

newspaper(.50 cents =) )

first i found the raised body lines of the hood and taped off so i could begin wetsanding. i wetsanded with some 1000 grit wet/dry 3m sandpaper i had lying around. (make sure cleatcoat is dull or paint wont stick correctly).

wipe down with soap and water and reapply new tape for sharp lines.

i didnt take too many of "during" .

but here is the final result . after 4 coats of the semi gloss black i waited 4 hours then wetsanded with 2000 and 3000 grit then polished using a buffer and meguires compound and polish. some of the pics may get mixed up but shows you what experience can do [nutkick] lol if i plan on keeping it im gonna black out the grill and extend the stripe down the front bumper .

tried plasti dip....i have no idea how ppl make it come out where it doesnt feel like a fur rug.lmao

·
Meh.
10,609 Posts
That looks really nice. Would you ever consider carrying it over the roof and trunk. Just an idea but I think it would look pretty awesome.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
no i think i might just keep it in front not a fan of it all over really , but thanks guys . and keep in mind i didnt spray this with a gun but a can . [woot]

if any 08 + owners want help or tips let me know

·
br/o/stang
5,563 Posts
just shows its all in the prep! nice work

·
Jetsetter
6,657 Posts