Focus Fanatics Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the process of swapping out my burned up cluth in my '02 zx3 hatchback. While driving I lost the clutch and the engine stopped running. After costing to a stop I tried starting it. Engine turned over but got no ignition. Haven't gotten it back together yet but is this going to be a weird issue when I do?

·
Registered
2013 Focus SE gray 5 spd hatch
1,770 Posts
I'm not sure why the clutch completely burning up would cause the engine to not start unless it did some kind of damage on it's way out. I'm no expert on clutches though so maybe someone else has an idea.
It could just be a coincidence but if it happened at the exact same time then I would say it's related. Did you over rev the engine when the clutch went?

·
Registered
369 Posts
Probably the crank sensor got buggered. Clutches are pretty tough and while I've heard a lot of people claim you can "burn them up" I think most of that is baloney.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
As far as I can tell without removing anything the timing belt is intact. My thought was that a sensor tripped some sort of safety protocol and would reset with no battery hooked up. I've got the assembly out. Have trouble lining it back up. I rolled the input shaft a little when I cleaned it up.

·
Registered
1,730 Posts
As far as I can tell without removing anything the timing belt is intact. My thought was that a sensor tripped some sort of safety protocol and would reset with no battery hooked up. I've got the assembly out. Have trouble lining it back up. I rolled the input shaft a little when I cleaned it up.
The only sensor that I can think would cause that is the CPK right on the block under the header (pokes into the bell housing area to pick up the toothed wheel on the back of the flywheel).