Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
To begin with I've been a quad in a wheelchair for the last 25 years (diving accident a while back) I've been autocrossing my 91 Miata for the last 4 years.

I've wanted to try a fun FWD platform and eventually try some track days with it, as well as a secondary autocross car. My Miata has no a/c and a really crappy top - which I don't want to spend the $ on to replace - it won't help it go any faster :)

So I picked up this 01 ZX3 a couple of months ago

added another set of hand controls I had laying around, just like the set in the Miata

I decided to ditch the 'too low' Eibach Sport springs in favor of a complete Eibach Pro suspension kit.

After much reading on this great site I discovered the SVT header swap and bought a header/flex/cat from another board member, sandblasted it, and ceramic painted it

I had a local exhaust shop handle the swap and run new 2.25" piping out the back with a single muffler (no resonator). It sounds pretty good, a little buzzy up high, but definitely not too loud.

I promptly proceeded in blowing the flex part of the stock power steering line, yep - I didn't bend it far enough away from the new SVT header!! So I got CFM's new splice in SVT line conversion kit, and had a buddy help install it. It worked like a champ.

Lastly we flashed in a 91 octane tune with alternator cutout at WOT and more aggressive shift profiles for the ATX. I have to use an ATX due to the hand controls, and inoperable legs, and yes, the Miata is Autotragic as well.

Now it looks like this

I added the Sparco Assetto Gara wheels and Kuhmo Ecstas when doing the suspension swap. The stock wheels were 17.75 lbs each!!!! I believe the Garas are @ 13 lbs each.

My last hurdles are some decent seats that will accept 5 point harnesses and a harness bar. I considered Corbeau A4s like I have in the Miata, but they're pretty damn hard, and my girlfriend hates them [facepalm].