Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, new to the focus fanatics,
I’ve got a 2001 Ford Focus SE SVT, and as of yesterday morning, my car has been running just fine. Yesterday when I went out to warm up my car, it runs really rough if I don’t let it warm up for a few mins before I drive, so started it up, went to get out to get my stuff and I noticed a burning oil smell, and immediately shut off my car, popped the hood and when I opened the hood, I noticed smoke from what it looked like it was coming from under my valve cover. So I’m no mechanic, but my grandpa was and as a little girl I loved watching and helping my grandpa, so I learned a thing or two and now I love working on cars when I can. So I grabbed my tools and decided to take off the heat shield, hoping I’d be able to get a better look. Started the car up and looked all around and shut it off and noticed some oil was burning off the manifold. So I let the car run for a bit and the smoke stopped. I figured I spilled some oil when I added some. That night I was up all night, something just didn’t sit right with me, so I went back out with my flash light and noticed some oil spots, I took a screwdriver and a rag and cleaned up as much of the oil as I could, thinking if I had a leak I’d be able to see the new oil. That morning, sure enough, I noticed a little bit of fresh oil. I took a photo and attached it, it’s the best I could get, I circled where the new oil was coming from. It’s not gushing out, and I haven’t noticed it dripping a lot so far, but it’s seeping out from that spot.
Now I have no idea what is right there, or what that is, I think it’s inbetwren the cylinder head and head gasket? Maybe idk, I’m hoping I don’t have a blown or bad head gasket. I read online a lot of people saying to replace the valve gasket, which I might do myself, seems easy enough, but not sure if it’s leakig from there and dripping down to that spot.