Focus Fanatics Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy all!

My names Joe, and I'm fixing this car for my girlfriend. I'm an Aerospace engineering student and a shadetree mechanic/restorer. I usually work on aircooled VW's though I have experience with waterpumper Jettas, Mercedes Benz trucks, and your run of the mill honda toyota appliance sedan. I say this so you guys can assume I know the basics of engine repair and have a full roster of tools to work with. [8D]

Heres the rub:

gf is driving the car (I'm not around) and her multi function warning light comes on, according to the manual its an exclamation mark (!) with a circle around it, indicating the coolant is in the red. (again, I wasn't around or I would've noticed the temperature gauge going into the red but... blondes and cars ya know)

It went into its fail-safe mode, at which point she panicked and called me.

I had it towed home, hoping to reduce any damage that might've been done, but I did watch the temps come down on the gauge when I left the ignition on (engine off) and the interior fans on full hot while we waited for the AAA guy.

When I got to the car initially, I touched the upper and lower hoses and both felt very hot to me, so I'm assuming (perhaps wrongly) that the coolant is flowing. At this point, I'm not suspecting the water pump. The belts are on and fine.

The coolant level was also normal, not a drop leaked or anything. Opening the cap, its a filthy brown color. I immediately started thinking "head gasket" but I'm praying thats not the case... no "chocolate milk" under the oil cap, a good sign. The coolant thats drained since I removed the thermostat is the same brownish color, though it apparently started life green. it doesn't have an oil sheen or smell gas-y