Hello - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Discussions > New Members Check In!

New Members Check In! If you're new to Focus Fanatics, please take a moment to check in, introduce yourself and show us your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2019, 08:33 AM   #1
Focus Rookie
 
Metrognome3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Fan#: 413371
Posts: 11
Points 1, Level 1
Points: 1, Level: 1 Points: 1, Level: 1 Points: 1, Level: 1
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Metrognome3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hello

Greetings fellow friends and fans of the fabulous Ford Focus!
I'm new to the Focus game, after many years tinkering with the Geo Metro.
Picked up an 03 ZTS, 2.0 MT recently, and need a bit of help. Upon arrival, the dash worked fine, except sometimes the temp gauge would quit. Then the odometer displayed "Error". Now none of the gauges work. I'm thinking ground issue, and have a manual en route, with hopes of chasing this gremlin. Has anyone else experienced this? How would you proceed?
Thanks in advance for what I'm sure will be helpful info from you fine Focus folks.


Metrognome3 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2019, 04:00 PM   #2
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2019
Fan#: 412843
Location: Mount Prospect, IL
What I Drive: Blue 02 SVT Caged Racecar

Posts: 31
Points 97, Level 1
Points: 97, Level: 1 Points: 97, Level: 1 Points: 97, Level: 1
Level Up 94% Completed
Level up: 94% Level up: 94% Level up: 94%
Forum Activity 46%
Activity: 46% Activity: 46% Activity: 46%
FF Reputation: 1 chris101 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm a new to Focus as well but I'm coming from the Mazda and Nissan world myself... Welcome fellow noob!
chris101 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2019, 04:03 PM   #3
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91663
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2006 ZX3 SES

Posts: 442
Points 918, Level 16
Points: 918, Level: 16 Points: 918, Level: 16 Points: 918, Level: 16
Level Up 18% Completed
Level up: 18% Level up: 18% Level up: 18%
Forum Activity 99%
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
FF Reputation: 6 pbfoot Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metrognome3 View Post
Greetings fellow friends and fans of the fabulous Ford Focus!
I'm new to the Focus game, after many years tinkering with the Geo Metro.
Picked up an 03 ZTS, 2.0 MT recently, and need a bit of help. Upon arrival, the dash worked fine, except sometimes the temp gauge would quit. Then the odometer displayed "Error". Now none of the gauges work. I'm thinking ground issue, and have a manual en route, with hopes of chasing this gremlin. Has anyone else experienced this? How would you proceed?
Thanks in advance for what I'm sure will be helpful info from you fine Focus folks.
Always check the grounds. Welcome. Post a picture of your car please.
pbfoot is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-12-2019, 12:07 AM   #4
Trump 2016
 
pasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Fan#: 62350
Location: queens, NY
What I Drive: 2013 Focus ST3

Posts: 12,883
Points 32,228, Level 100
Points: 32,228, Level: 100 Points: 32,228, Level: 100 Points: 32,228, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
FF Reputation: 11 pasta Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (55)
Welcome read up on old threads there is plenty of info on your issue.
pasta is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 08:33 AM   #5
Focus Rookie
 
Metrognome3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Fan#: 413371
Posts: 11
Points 1, Level 1
Points: 1, Level: 1 Points: 1, Level: 1 Points: 1, Level: 1
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Metrognome3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Pasta

I tried searching for cluster or dash problems, couldn't find anything.
I'll have to dig a little deeper.
Metrognome3 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 08:52 AM   #6
Focus Rookie
 
Metrognome3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Fan#: 413371
Posts: 11
Points 1, Level 1
Points: 1, Level: 1 Points: 1, Level: 1 Points: 1, Level: 1
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Metrognome3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
My "new" Ferd
Attached Thumbnails
Hello-15603466809761926342943370751159_1560346714113.jpg  

Metrognome3 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 08:54 AM   #7
Focus Rookie
 
Metrognome3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Fan#: 413371
Posts: 11
Points 1, Level 1
Points: 1, Level: 1 Points: 1, Level: 1 Points: 1, Level: 1
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Metrognome3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Pulled cluster, disconnected and reconnected, dash works! I've got a hunch there's a loose wire back there somewhere. If it quits again, I'll go hunting.
Metrognome3 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2019, 08:37 AM   #8
Focus Rookie
 
Metrognome3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Fan#: 413371
Posts: 11
Points 1, Level 1
Points: 1, Level: 1 Points: 1, Level: 1 Points: 1, Level: 1
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Metrognome3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ok, the plot thickens. Temp gauge works sometimes. More intriguing, however, is the odometer. Trip odo starts at 0.0, goes to 0.9, then returns to 0.0. the odometer does not change. It reads essentially what it did when the gauges quit, one week and about 230 miles ago. Does anyone know if mileage is logged on cluster or in computer?
Metrognome3 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2019, 08:46 AM   #9
w/ my magic bag
 
felixthecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80663
Location: The Jet city, WA
What I Drive: '05 Silver Sport Technologies

Posts: 28,689
Points 33,551, Level 100
Points: 33,551, Level: 100 Points: 33,551, Level: 100 Points: 33,551, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
FF Reputation: 87 felixthecat Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metrognome3 View Post
Ok, the plot thickens. Temp gauge works sometimes. More intriguing, however, is the odometer. Trip odo starts at 0.0, goes to 0.9, then returns to 0.0. the odometer does not change. It reads essentially what it did when the gauges quit, one week and about 230 miles ago. Does anyone know if mileage is logged on cluster or in computer?
Welcome to FF........Throw a new thread in the mk 1 section as you'd get more response there vs here in the new member section.......
__________________
Introduce Mr. Torsen to the mix
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bigger brakes then you- D23 crew- D-Tech- Sedan Revolution= #131
R.I.P....Mr Felix, 5-2-02... 5-24-19
felixthecat is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2019, 09:27 AM   #10
Focus Rookie
 
Metrognome3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Fan#: 413371
Posts: 11
Points 1, Level 1
Points: 1, Level: 1 Points: 1, Level: 1 Points: 1, Level: 1
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Metrognome3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Got it, thanks
Metrognome3 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Focus Centennial Edition Sedan
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1