2015 titanium issues - Page 2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 TSB, Recall & Problems Archive

MK3 TSB, Recall & Problems Archive The place to chat about TSB and Known Issues for the 2012 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2019, 01:39 PM   #11
Focus Addict
 
Ductape91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Fan#: 274433
Location: Brasher Falls, NY
What I Drive: 2015 Ford Focus SE 1.0 EcoBoost

Posts: 555
Points 2,896, Level 32
Points: 2,896, Level: 32 Points: 2,896, Level: 32 Points: 2,896, Level: 32
Level Up 98% Completed
Level up: 98% Level up: 98% Level up: 98%
Forum Activity 23%
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
FF Reputation: 2 Ductape91 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBert View Post
On there site, which one do i download? And where do i go from there? lol
Forscan lite for IOs is the free version if you are an apple user.
You need to purchase the cable or bluetooth odb2 plug(which is elm327 but i thought 2015+ needed els327, need to confirm) and hook it up to your car.
I would go with the cable for practical reasons.
Ductape91 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-27-2019, 02:25 PM   #12
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Fan#: 339178
Location: Boiling Springs, PA
What I Drive: 2012 SEL Hatch, 2003 Cent. Sedan

Posts: 401
Points 906, Level 16
Points: 906, Level: 16 Points: 906, Level: 16 Points: 906, Level: 16
Level Up 6% Completed
Level up: 6% Level up: 6% Level up: 6%
Forum Activity 50%
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
FF Reputation: 3 IrishBrewer Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
If you have access to a Windows laptop, the safe bet would be to get the latest windows version with the free 2-month extended license. There's a procedure for activating the extended license but I think the instructions are sent to you when you request the license.

Some of the service procedures may not be available in the other versions. Then when you run it, go to Service Procedures and search for BCM->Battery Monitoring System Reset. Run that function and it will reset the battery monitor and hopefully that will solve your problem. Crazy thing is that you should do this every time you install a new battery so it's not as simple as just removing the old one and throwing a new one in there.
IrishBrewer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2019, 10:52 AM   #13
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 409691
Posts: 6
Points 25, Level 1
Points: 25, Level: 1 Points: 25, Level: 1 Points: 25, Level: 1
Level Up 49% Completed
Level up: 49% Level up: 49% Level up: 49%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 ChrisBert Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks for the information, guys. It's just stupid that i even have to go through this because of a battery. I need to go back to c6 corvettes haha
ChrisBert is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-28-2019, 01:07 PM   #14
Focus Enthusiast
 
SupraGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 410021
Location: Edmonton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus 5 door Titanium

Posts: 179
Points 381, Level 7
Points: 381, Level: 7 Points: 381, Level: 7 Points: 381, Level: 7
Level Up 62% Completed
Level up: 62% Level up: 62% Level up: 62%
Forum Activity 6%
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
FF Reputation: 1 SupraGuy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I concur. It is kind of dumb that this needs to happen just to replace the battery.

When I have the DCT warranty work done, they told me that I had to replace the battery, but that they wouldn't do it under warranty, then quoted me about 2.5x the going rate for a battery. I told them that I could do it myself, thank you very much, not knowing about this.

I already had a bluetooth OBD2 device that happened to be compatable with ForScan, and a bluetooth capable laptop, so I dodged that. Stupid though.

I'm glad that it monitors the battery to shut stuff down when it needs to, but really...
__________________
2012 Focus Titanium Hatchback
121,000 km, all stock

1990 Toyota Supra turbo
I think the cams are still stock...
SupraGuy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2019, 05:43 PM   #15
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Fan#: 339178
Location: Boiling Springs, PA
What I Drive: 2012 SEL Hatch, 2003 Cent. Sedan

Posts: 401
Points 906, Level 16
Points: 906, Level: 16 Points: 906, Level: 16 Points: 906, Level: 16
Level Up 6% Completed
Level up: 6% Level up: 6% Level up: 6%
Forum Activity 50%
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
FF Reputation: 3 IrishBrewer Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Agreed. This is one of those things that they easily could have built into the car's information system so you could do it yourself or some kind of super secret combinations of pedal presses akin to the oil change reset.
IrishBrewer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2019, 07:07 PM   #16
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 409691
Posts: 6
Points 25, Level 1
Points: 25, Level: 1 Points: 25, Level: 1 Points: 25, Level: 1
Level Up 49% Completed
Level up: 49% Level up: 49% Level up: 49%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 ChrisBert Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Alright, bought the part and downloaded FORScan. I ran the test tried resetting the modules for the remote start and wipers. Still nothing. I get a DTC for the remote start with a P1956 code. That number could be wrong, I didn’t write it down.

Wipers wouldn’t even do the sweep to allow me to adjust them. Maybe the motor is borked.

Anyway, any advice or something that I’m not doing as to why I can’t get this crap fixed. Bought ready to set it on fire. Sorry if I left out some stuff, being rushed at the moment
ChrisBert is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1