Tesla Style 10" Screen - Page 8 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK3 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2012 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest

Like Tree8Likes
Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2018, 10:20 AM   #71
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Fan#: 376057
Location: Brampton, Huntingdon, CAMBS, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2015 Focus SE

Posts: 35
Points 257, Level 5
Points: 257, Level: 5 Points: 257, Level: 5 Points: 257, Level: 5
Level Up 14% Completed
Level up: 14% Level up: 14% Level up: 14%
Forum Activity 21%
Activity: 21% Activity: 21% Activity: 21%
FF Reputation: 1 weezerasu Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ok so here goes....

I've had the head unit for almost a week now and have had no real issues with it so far. Getting everything out of the box and installed was a real pain without instructions. There was a lot of "maybe here....no. maybe here.....no. maybe here....ok!" all in all without the instructions I'd put the difficulty of the install at about a 6-7/10. If there were instructions or at least a diagram showing what went to what, it would be about a 3/10.

Initial tear down of the dash was not hard, plenty of videos on youtube with how its done so I'm not going to get into that.

Getting the radio hooked into the wiring harness of the car was a LOT of trial and error. My method was to see where each plug went on the vehicle before attempting to attach it to the head unit. once I thought I had it all connected, I then connected it to the head unit which was only 3-4 plugs I think. I failed you guys as I did not take pictures of the wiring while I was doing this because I had to hurry so my girlfriend wasn't stuck at work waiting on me to pick her up, but if I get time and can take it apart I will take some pics for yall.

As for the rear cam....

After I got all the wiring hooked up but before I screwed the unit in, I turned the car on waited for it to power up. I then put the car in reverse and noticed there was "No Signal" on the screen for the cam. I did not have the car running, just in the on position btw....I then noticed the yellow video RCA plugs, some had English and others had Chinese on the tags. to get the cam to work I basically connected the plugs from the head unit to the plugs in the harness until I got a signal and it was clear. I then powered down the unit and installed everything.

I have not had any issues with the Bluetooth drop, time/date not saving, or the crappy radio sound.

I did notice that the time and date on the unit will be off when it first comes on, but once the GPS picks up the satellites it updates the time. Just make sure you set your tablet to manually update date/time in the android settings menu and that you have a good reception on the GPS puck. (Mine is under the dash as far back as I could get my hands in)

The glare- yea its bad- but its not an end all for me. When I'm driving I'm not really looking at the screen anyways as I use the voice prompts from Waze when I Navigate. I do believe that the glare issue is due (in part) to the screen protector that is on the screen. I don't think its a glued on one so I may be peeling it off...a little hesitant to do that though because I don't want to damage the screen in the process and my luck, I would....


I know this is rambling and might be a tough read but I wanted to get this info out to yall as well as the pictures below so you could see the settings menus for my camera. If you have something specific you want to know please PM me and ill do my best to answer. Overall, I love this head unit....I looks awesome, and does everything I have asked it to do.


ok so pics wont upload....will get them in tonight I promise!
__________________
Car #12 - 2015 Focus SE Hatch - Cobb RMM, poor mans intake (running K&N filter no lid on Box) H&R sport springs, FSWERKS race exhaust

Last edited by weezerasu; 09-17-2018 at 10:29 AM. Reason: add pictures
weezerasu is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-28-2018, 09:28 AM   #72
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2017
Fan#: 355553
Location: Not telling, IL
What I Drive: 15 Focus Slow Edition

Posts: 398
Points 416, Level 8
Points: 416, Level: 8 Points: 416, Level: 8 Points: 416, Level: 8
Level Up 32% Completed
Level up: 32% Level up: 32% Level up: 32%
Forum Activity 35%
Activity: 35% Activity: 35% Activity: 35%
FF Reputation: 1 AdhesiveTeflon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Update:

I've had to reset the headunit twice this week in order to get audio through the bluetooth. That's four times in total in a month that I've had this head unit. I'm about to put the stock head unit back on with a new line-out converter and toss this at a wall.
AdhesiveTeflon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2018, 12:45 AM   #73
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Fan#: 393834
Location: Perth, Australia
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus Titanium

Posts: 24
Points 106, Level 2
Points: 106, Level: 2 Points: 106, Level: 2 Points: 106, Level: 2
Level Up 12% Completed
Level up: 12% Level up: 12% Level up: 12%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Baalzamon512 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Pulled the head unit off again and looked at the wiring. Spotted a brown wire labelled rear cam that isn't connected to anything and has no connection on it ARRGH.

So where does that lil brown wire supposed to go, does it supposed to have an RCA head or is it wired straight into the harness...
Baalzamon512 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-26-2018, 11:16 AM   #74
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2017
Fan#: 355553
Location: Not telling, IL
What I Drive: 15 Focus Slow Edition

Posts: 398
Points 416, Level 8
Points: 416, Level: 8 Points: 416, Level: 8 Points: 416, Level: 8
Level Up 32% Completed
Level up: 32% Level up: 32% Level up: 32%
Forum Activity 35%
Activity: 35% Activity: 35% Activity: 35%
FF Reputation: 1 AdhesiveTeflon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baalzamon512 View Post
Pulled the head unit off again and looked at the wiring. Spotted a brown wire labelled rear cam that isn't connected to anything and has no connection on it ARRGH.

So where does that lil brown wire supposed to go, does it supposed to have an RCA head or is it wired straight into the harness...
The little brown wire doesn't do anything for me, mine is the same way like yours where it leads to "nowhere". Do you have a picture of the cables that are left over you didn't use?

I wish I took a picture of it since I pulled out the headunit 3 times this past week.
AdhesiveTeflon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2018, 06:32 AM   #75
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Fan#: 393834
Location: Perth, Australia
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus Titanium

Posts: 24
Points 106, Level 2
Points: 106, Level: 2 Points: 106, Level: 2 Points: 106, Level: 2
Level Up 12% Completed
Level up: 12% Level up: 12% Level up: 12%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Baalzamon512 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I think I'm missing a plug
B1 is connected
B2 isn't
B3 isn't
B4 is (USB)
B5 is (Audio out) nothing attached to RCA outs tho
B6 isn't
B7 isn't
B8 isn't
Baalzamon512 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2018, 04:39 AM   #76
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Fan#: 393834
Location: Perth, Australia
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus Titanium

Posts: 24
Points 106, Level 2
Points: 106, Level: 2 Points: 106, Level: 2 Points: 106, Level: 2
Level Up 12% Completed
Level up: 12% Level up: 12% Level up: 12%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Baalzamon512 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Here is photos. Suspect missing a harness. Anyone confirm
Attached Thumbnails
Tesla Style 10" Screen-20181028_184029_1541327827712.jpg  

Tesla Style 10" Screen-20181027_174833_1541327899334.jpg  

Tesla Style 10" Screen-20181027_174853_1541327942574.jpg  

Baalzamon512 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-28-2019, 10:09 AM   #77
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2017
Fan#: 355553
Location: Not telling, IL
What I Drive: 15 Focus Slow Edition

Posts: 398
Points 416, Level 8
Points: 416, Level: 8 Points: 416, Level: 8 Points: 416, Level: 8
Level Up 32% Completed
Level up: 32% Level up: 32% Level up: 32%
Forum Activity 35%
Activity: 35% Activity: 35% Activity: 35%
FF Reputation: 1 AdhesiveTeflon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Anybody know if there's another ground on this headunit? I'm getting static whenever the lights are on or I'm braking (tail lights on.) As far as I can tell, the static is being caused pre-amp and I'm gong to move the power cable down the center console instead of the door trim so I might as well try to take another look behind the head unit.
AdhesiveTeflon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2019, 03:39 PM   #78
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Fan#: 411489
Posts: 3
Points 1, Level 1
Points: 1, Level: 1 Points: 1, Level: 1 Points: 1, Level: 1
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 123joe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ive been searching for ages on this site to find somewhere to post this. I installed one of these tesla style heads. My usb/sd card device in the centre console does not work . It will work if I unplug the mini usbs that plug directly into the the usb/sd device. My question is, there is an extra connector with two wires that also plugs into the usd/sd device that goes into the original radio connectors but are not used for the Tesla head. Are these 2 wires a 12v or 5v supply that I need to connect in order for the usb/sd device to work? Its not faulty because it will work when the original Ford radio is plugged in. Any help would be greatly appreciated
123joe is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Focus Centennial Edition Sedan
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1