Backup camera lens - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2019, 09:51 AM   #1
Focus Enthusiast
 
SupraGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 410021
Location: Edmonton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus 5 door Titanium

Posts: 154
Points 337, Level 6
Points: 337, Level: 6 Points: 337, Level: 6 Points: 337, Level: 6
Level Up 74% Completed
Level up: 74% Level up: 74% Level up: 74%
Forum Activity 28%
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
FF Reputation: 1 SupraGuy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Backup camera lens

Okay, so I'm approaching the end of week #5 of owning this car.

So far, it's spent more weekends in the shop than my driveway, and is currently still in the shop for the P0420. (I still think that the dealer messed up dropping the transmission for the clutch replacement.)

Anyway, not that I've spent that much time driving it, but there are some things that have been bugging me, and I'd like to get to.

The backup camera is super hazy. At first I thought that it was just a dirty lens, but after cleaning it, it's still hazy. I didn't see anything on the backup camera here, but I figure that I'll give it a shot with some polish, and an anti-fog treatment. I think that I have a headlight restore kit around somewhere that has polish and an anti-condensation coating. Anyone know of any gotchas when working around the camera?


SupraGuy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2019, 11:25 AM   #2
Focus Enthusiast
 
SupraGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 410021
Location: Edmonton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus 5 door Titanium

Posts: 154
Points 337, Level 6
Points: 337, Level: 6 Points: 337, Level: 6 Points: 337, Level: 6
Level Up 74% Completed
Level up: 74% Level up: 74% Level up: 74%
Forum Activity 28%
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
FF Reputation: 1 SupraGuy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Okay, here's a slightly more technical question, if anyone has an answer.

edit:
The car is a 2012 Titanium HB with the Ford Mytouch 8" display
/edit

Is is possible to tap into the backup camera for my dashcam? I can input a composite signal into the dashcam, if I can tap into it.

I know that some of these cameras are not meant for high duty cycle, I had a backup camera kit before which had a sepcific warning not to use it for dashcam usage, as being always on would damage the camera. (Crappy design, then, IMO.)

I actually used that camera in the left hand mirror assembly of a right-hand drive JDM car, and it comes on with the left signal light to show oncoming traffic when making left turns. I put a small corrective lens in to protect it from the elements and to narrow the wide viewing angle. The monitor could flip the image so that it wasn't mirrored.

Anyway, my dash camera came with a rear view camera, and a trigger wire so that it could be used as a backup camera, but I'd rather not mount a second camera if it isn't necessary. I do want to record the rear camera, as there are far too many nutty drivers around here.

Last edited by SupraGuy; 03-26-2019 at 11:27 AM. Reason: Add car information
SupraGuy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2019, 12:31 PM   #3
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 409817
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL Hatch

Posts: 177
Points 171, Level 3
Points: 171, Level: 3 Points: 171, Level: 3 Points: 171, Level: 3
Level Up 43% Completed
Level up: 43% Level up: 43% Level up: 43%
Forum Activity 11%
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
FF Reputation: 1 Smalls89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
if not mistaken, to put a oem cam in all you need is the cam and wire harness... the harness is like $30? the cam is like 200, but a quick run to the local pick-n-pull should be much cheaper. then just set in bcm/ipc that the car has a a rear cam

starting to dig this PNP style of newer fords
Smalls89 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2019, 01:21 PM   #4
Focus Enthusiast
 
SupraGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 410021
Location: Edmonton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus 5 door Titanium

Posts: 154
Points 337, Level 6
Points: 337, Level: 6 Points: 337, Level: 6 Points: 337, Level: 6
Level Up 74% Completed
Level up: 74% Level up: 74% Level up: 74%
Forum Activity 28%
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
FF Reputation: 1 SupraGuy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have the OEM cam already, the lens is pretty hazy, so it needs a good cleaning, maybe a polish, but it's already there.

It'd be nice if I could use it for the dash camera, as in a complete non-OEM application, if I can tap into a usable signal from it. It occurs to me that it may only be turned on when the car is in reverse (Would make sense, really) and may do things like take over the screen if I turn it on with the dash camera. I'm sure that I could do things to not let the system know that it's turned on, but I do worry about duty cycle.

I'll probably end up installing the rear camera that came with the dash cam along the top of the rear window at the top of the wiper arc. if I do that I won't need the weatherproof casing, so I'll probably fabricate a new housing for it, maybe use my 3D printer. It won't be as useful as a backup camera that way, but since I have the factory one, that's probably okay.

My camera also has a battery-backed feature where it will come on based on an internal shock sensor, so it could catch someone hitting the car while it's parked. The higher vantage point might be more useful for that.

Well, so far, it's not like I've been driving the car anyway. Of (to date) 40 days of owning this Focus, I've spent 24 days driving either a rental or a service loaner. Currently driving a rental, since my car has been at the dealership service department for the past week.
__________________
2012 Focus Titanium Hatchback
121,000 km, all stock

1990 Toyota Supra turbo
I think the cams are still stock...
SupraGuy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2019, 02:39 PM   #5
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2017
Fan#: 355553
Location: Not telling, IL
What I Drive: 15 Focus Slow Edition

Posts: 398
Points 416, Level 8
Points: 416, Level: 8 Points: 416, Level: 8 Points: 416, Level: 8
Level Up 32% Completed
Level up: 32% Level up: 32% Level up: 32%
Forum Activity 35%
Activity: 35% Activity: 35% Activity: 35%
FF Reputation: 1 AdhesiveTeflon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SupraGuy View Post
Is is possible to tap into the backup camera for my dashcam? I can input a composite signal into the dashcam, if I can tap into it.
The 10.4" tesla-style ebay screens have a separate harness that leads from the back-up cam factory harness to the head unit itself so I would assume that you can tap into them.

Last edited by AdhesiveTeflon; 03-26-2019 at 02:44 PM.
AdhesiveTeflon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2019, 06:33 AM   #6
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2012
Fan#: 98706
Location: Mills River, NC
What I Drive: 2012 Tux Black Focus Titanium Hatch

Posts: 310
Points 3,872, Level 39
Points: 3,872, Level: 39 Points: 3,872, Level: 39 Points: 3,872, Level: 39
Level Up 48% Completed
Level up: 48% Level up: 48% Level up: 48%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 2 zehkaiser Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
When I pulled apart my APIM the backup camera just plugged into the back of the unit. I can't remember at this point if it was USB or composite. You'll have to pull your APIM out and take a look.
zehkaiser is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2019, 09:08 AM   #7
Focus Enthusiast
 
SupraGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 410021
Location: Edmonton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus 5 door Titanium

Posts: 154
Points 337, Level 6
Points: 337, Level: 6 Points: 337, Level: 6 Points: 337, Level: 6
Level Up 74% Completed
Level up: 74% Level up: 74% Level up: 74%
Forum Activity 28%
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
FF Reputation: 1 SupraGuy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
At this point, I'm not sure, but I think that this car just hates me.

Yesterday (Yes, on April 1, go figure.) the backup camera stopped working at all.

So maybe something just got pulled loose, or a connector failed, but I've had the car back from the dealer for 4 days, I think. Pretty sure that I'll do the front-end diagnostics on this, unless this comes under the extended warranty on the APIM, in which case... WTF, Ford?
Attached Images
 
__________________
2012 Focus Titanium Hatchback
121,000 km, all stock

1990 Toyota Supra turbo
I think the cams are still stock...
SupraGuy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2019, 01:07 PM   #8
Focus Enthusiast
 
SupraGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 410021
Location: Edmonton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus 5 door Titanium

Posts: 154
Points 337, Level 6
Points: 337, Level: 6 Points: 337, Level: 6 Points: 337, Level: 6
Level Up 74% Completed
Level up: 74% Level up: 74% Level up: 74%
Forum Activity 28%
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
FF Reputation: 1 SupraGuy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
So at this point, I guess I have to diagnose the reverse camera. I can think of a few possibilities:

1. The connection to the APIM is loose. If this is the case, then I have to pull the APIM and check that all connections are secure and tight. This shouldn't be too bad, and the fix is pretty much the same as checking it.

2. The connection at the camera is loose. Maybe I closed the liftgate too hard or something.

3. The wiring at the liftgate hinge has failed from repeated stress of opening/closing.

4. The camera itself is fubar.

2-4 all involve taking all of the trim off of the liftgate, with 3 maybe requiring pulling down a part of the headliner.

I wonder if I should inquire if this is/might be part of what gets covered with the APIM warranty extension from 12M02

Just once, I'd like to be able to get through a tank of gas without this car needing to be in the shop. So far, I've brought it back to the dealership more often than I've brought it to the gas pumps.
__________________
2012 Focus Titanium Hatchback
121,000 km, all stock

1990 Toyota Supra turbo
I think the cams are still stock...
SupraGuy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2019, 12:07 AM   #9
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 409817
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL Hatch

Posts: 177
Points 171, Level 3
Points: 171, Level: 3 Points: 171, Level: 3 Points: 171, Level: 3
Level Up 43% Completed
Level up: 43% Level up: 43% Level up: 43%
Forum Activity 11%
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
FF Reputation: 1 Smalls89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
IIRC all the wire harness are under the trim not the head liner, check my posts I posted a cad drawing of the harnesses and the part numbers
Smalls89 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2019, 12:17 AM   #10
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 409817
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL Hatch

Posts: 177
Points 171, Level 3
Points: 171, Level: 3 Points: 171, Level: 3 Points: 171, Level: 3
Level Up 43% Completed
Level up: 43% Level up: 43% Level up: 43%
Forum Activity 11%
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
FF Reputation: 1 Smalls89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
https://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/.../topics/810763
Smalls89 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Focus Centennial Edition Sedan
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding Backup Camera to 2014 SE? rschaffter MK3 Focus 2 06-04-2019 09:31 AM
Can the small screen in the Focus SE be used for a backup camera? rebelx Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics 5 08-30-2014 07:42 AM
A Backup Camera for your Focus... bluefront MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 22 02-23-2009 03:25 PM
Wiring up the VR3 Backup Wireless Camera cowymo MK1 Focus 0 01-21-2007 02:26 PM
For Sale: Digital camera :) whookam BST Archive 7 11-23-2004 01:34 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1