Backup camera lens - Page 2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2019, 11:52 AM   #11
Focus Enthusiast
 
SupraGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 410021
Location: Edmonton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus 5 door Titanium

Posts: 157
Points 341, Level 6
Points: 341, Level: 6 Points: 341, Level: 6 Points: 341, Level: 6
Level Up 82% Completed
Level up: 82% Level up: 82% Level up: 82%
Forum Activity 40%
Activity: 40% Activity: 40% Activity: 40%
FF Reputation: 1 SupraGuy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks. I'd seen those, but wasn't sure where that actually referenced with respect tot he cabin trim, as opposed to the hatch.

Well, this morning, the camera worked, then when I got to work, it didn't, so it seems to be an intermittent failure. This means that if I take it to the dealer, it'll probably work perfectly until I leave, because that's how it is with intermittent failures.

Overall, this is more annoying than a serious failure, but I do worry about rearward visibility. That back window is small, far from the driver's seat, and high, which makes it difficult to see what's back there. The camera was helpful for peace of mind. Well, I still have the sensors which are happy to beep at me to let me know that I'm too close to something that they can/will detect. It works fine for parallel parking. (I have not yet tried the park assist, I'm not sure how much I trust it.)
__________________
2012 Focus Titanium Hatchback
121,000 km, all stock

1990 Toyota Supra turbo
I think the cams are still stock...
SupraGuy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-03-2019, 03:55 PM   #12
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 409817
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL Hatch

Posts: 178
Points 171, Level 3
Points: 171, Level: 3 Points: 171, Level: 3 Points: 171, Level: 3
Level Up 43% Completed
Level up: 43% Level up: 43% Level up: 43%
Forum Activity 11%
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
FF Reputation: 1 Smalls89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have a hatch without the camera, I don't have any issues reversing
Smalls89 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2019, 05:11 PM   #13
Focus Enthusiast
 
SupraGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 410021
Location: Edmonton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus 5 door Titanium

Posts: 157
Points 341, Level 6
Points: 341, Level: 6 Points: 341, Level: 6 Points: 341, Level: 6
Level Up 82% Completed
Level up: 82% Level up: 82% Level up: 82%
Forum Activity 40%
Activity: 40% Activity: 40% Activity: 40%
FF Reputation: 1 SupraGuy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Well, I have a much easier time reversing than I did when the camera worked, but the transmission didn't. Still, it's a feature that the car should have, that I just paid for, and while I can certainly look around, having it not work puts me in a bad mood every time I get into the car, plus it's still safer having the camera working than not.

In true intermittent problem fashion though, when I pulled everything apart to check stuff, it worked. Then when I put everything back together, it didn't. I guess I'll just leave the trim panels off.

Of course this raises the possibility that the problem is somehow in the trim panels. Maybe a clip pinches something somewhere in a way that it shouldn't, or presses on a wire harness. I guess I'll have to look through everything. What a royal pain in the patootie.

So more troubleshooting. Next is to take the dashboard apart, and check all the connections to the APIM.
__________________
2012 Focus Titanium Hatchback
121,000 km, all stock

1990 Toyota Supra turbo
I think the cams are still stock...
SupraGuy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2019, 02:37 PM   #14
Focus Enthusiast
 
SupraGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 410021
Location: Edmonton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus 5 door Titanium

Posts: 157
Points 341, Level 6
Points: 341, Level: 6 Points: 341, Level: 6 Points: 341, Level: 6
Level Up 82% Completed
Level up: 82% Level up: 82% Level up: 82%
Forum Activity 40%
Activity: 40% Activity: 40% Activity: 40%
FF Reputation: 1 SupraGuy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Okay, so I had all the trim off of the hatch, and no luck with finding any kind of wiring fault.

I still haven't pulled everything up front at the APIM, so the jury is still out if it's a "simple" fix of something in the wiring.

I did get the rear camera for the dashcam installed. I just ran the cable from the dashcam to the back along the edge of the headliner on the passenger side. easy enough to tuck under the edges at the front, under the edges of the A and B pillar trim/airbags and along the tops of the door seals under the headliner. back over the C pillar trim and to the wiring harness to the hatch.

FWIW, I did have to pull the headliner down a little to get to that, and the wiring harness there, but I didn't have to pull it down much.

I installed my dashcam to the trim piece at the top of the hatch, so that it peeks out just below the top of the arc where the rear wiper cleans the glass. the dashcam also has a feature where if you connect a wire to the positive wire for the reverse light, it can act as a backup camera, though with it mounted at the top of the window like that, it isn't the best backup camera. I did connect it though. I tapped into the green/brown wire at the rear light harness, which I determined to be correct. Since it works as expected, I guess I was right. :)

I still want the backup camera working. I don't think that the camera itself has failed. I suspect that it is a wiring/connection issue. I hope that it isn't a problem internal to the APIM. I don't believe that it's directly related to the display, since that works properly for the entertainment/navigation system, and shows the "camera unavailable" message.

I did get a close look at the lens, and it's scratched up quite a bit, so I believe that this explains the poor image quality on the display. I expect that a good cleaning and polish will take care of the problem, assuming that I can get it working.
__________________
2012 Focus Titanium Hatchback
121,000 km, all stock

1990 Toyota Supra turbo
I think the cams are still stock...
SupraGuy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2019, 06:46 PM   #15
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 409817
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL Hatch

Posts: 178
Points 171, Level 3
Points: 171, Level: 3 Points: 171, Level: 3 Points: 171, Level: 3
Level Up 43% Completed
Level up: 43% Level up: 43% Level up: 43%
Forum Activity 11%
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
FF Reputation: 1 Smalls89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
If the camera has/is failing, shouldn't it log somene sort of code, and I think all the modules have self test functions you can do in forscan (mobile and PC)
Smalls89 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-09-2019, 01:07 PM   #16
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 112746
Location: Overland Park, KS
What I Drive: 13 Blk SE; 15 RR Ti; 03 SVT gone

Posts: 367
Points 2,923, Level 33
Points: 2,923, Level: 33 Points: 2,923, Level: 33 Points: 2,923, Level: 33
Level Up 16% Completed
Level up: 16% Level up: 16% Level up: 16%
Forum Activity 11%
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
FF Reputation: 1 Mike O Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SupraGuy View Post
I don't think that the camera itself has failed.p.
Having the luxury of trying another known working camera would be beneficial as a troubleshooting tool to truly rule out your existing camera.

Not sure how you could accomplish this. Do you know someone else with a Focus hatch?
Mike O is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-09-2019, 04:59 PM   #17
Focus Enthusiast
 
SupraGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 410021
Location: Edmonton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus 5 door Titanium

Posts: 157
Points 341, Level 6
Points: 341, Level: 6 Points: 341, Level: 6 Points: 341, Level: 6
Level Up 82% Completed
Level up: 82% Level up: 82% Level up: 82%
Forum Activity 40%
Activity: 40% Activity: 40% Activity: 40%
FF Reputation: 1 SupraGuy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
yeah, I don't see getting another known good camera to try as a viable troubleshooting strategy in this case, though I've given consideration to replacing the camera anyway, if I can't clear up the issue with the clouded lens. (Again, not vital, but it's something that bugs me)

With the one on my dashcam, I'd also give consideration to just telling the BCM or APIM to just shut the camera off, so that I don't have to see the annoying message to contact the dealership every time I put the car in reverse.

I hadn't even considered looking for trouble codes. I'm not used to the level of integration that this car has, so my default troubleshooting is the old-fashioned kind. Well, I'll take a peek with Forscan lite. I haven't purchased the extended license for Windows. I have to replace my laptop at some point, then maybe I'll purchase it.
__________________
2012 Focus Titanium Hatchback
121,000 km, all stock

1990 Toyota Supra turbo
I think the cams are still stock...
SupraGuy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-10-2019, 09:33 AM   #18
Focus Enthusiast
 
SupraGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 410021
Location: Edmonton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus 5 door Titanium

Posts: 157
Points 341, Level 6
Points: 341, Level: 6 Points: 341, Level: 6 Points: 341, Level: 6
Level Up 82% Completed
Level up: 82% Level up: 82% Level up: 82%
Forum Activity 40%
Activity: 40% Activity: 40% Activity: 40%
FF Reputation: 1 SupraGuy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Well, that was uninformative. I don't remember what the code was, but it translated as "General electrical failure" which I'll take as a wiring fault. It is the APIM that's reporting it , so the problem is almost certainly between the APIM and the camera, which was what I already suspected.

Well, the next step will be to pull the APIM out and check the connectors on it.

I kind of wonder if the dealership tech did something when he replaced my TCM. If that's the case, then the dealership is not who I want to fix this, or who knows what I'll be chasing down next. (It COULD all be coincidence, of course, and I just got the car that had 5 different things about to fail within 6 weeks of each other.)
__________________
2012 Focus Titanium Hatchback
121,000 km, all stock

1990 Toyota Supra turbo
I think the cams are still stock...
SupraGuy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-10-2019, 03:47 PM   #19
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 409817
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL Hatch

Posts: 178
Points 171, Level 3
Points: 171, Level: 3 Points: 171, Level: 3 Points: 171, Level: 3
Level Up 43% Completed
Level up: 43% Level up: 43% Level up: 43%
Forum Activity 11%
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
FF Reputation: 1 Smalls89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Not really sure what he could have done to it, apim should be inside the car, TCM is bolted to the trans
Smalls89 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-10-2019, 03:53 PM   #20
Focus Enthusiast
 
SupraGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 410021
Location: Edmonton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus 5 door Titanium

Posts: 157
Points 341, Level 6
Points: 341, Level: 6 Points: 341, Level: 6 Points: 341, Level: 6
Level Up 82% Completed
Level up: 82% Level up: 82% Level up: 82%
Forum Activity 40%
Activity: 40% Activity: 40% Activity: 40%
FF Reputation: 1 SupraGuy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Is it? I'm used to all the computers being behind the dashboard, so I figured that this would be, too. Obviously I haven't looked yet.

Still hoping that this is an obvious wiring issue, but it'll be a few days before I have time to do the rest of the diagnosis.
__________________
2012 Focus Titanium Hatchback
121,000 km, all stock

1990 Toyota Supra turbo
I think the cams are still stock...
SupraGuy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Focus Centennial Edition Sedan
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding Backup Camera to 2014 SE? rschaffter MK3 Focus 2 06-04-2019 09:31 AM
Can the small screen in the Focus SE be used for a backup camera? rebelx Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics 5 08-30-2014 07:42 AM
A Backup Camera for your Focus... bluefront MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 22 02-23-2009 03:25 PM
Wiring up the VR3 Backup Wireless Camera cowymo MK1 Focus 0 01-21-2007 02:26 PM
For Sale: Digital camera :) whookam BST Archive 7 11-23-2004 01:34 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1