forscan central config - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2019, 02:36 PM   #1
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90434
Location: western ma, MA
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus S

Posts: 64
Points 475, Level 9
Points: 475, Level: 9 Points: 475, Level: 9 Points: 475, Level: 9
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 fishcat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
forscan central config

I've used Focccus in the past to enable/mod functions but was always uneasy with the software because odd things would happen occasionally. I decided to install and tryout Forscan and when I selected the central config a message popped up about loading a secondary bootloader into the PCM. I canceled at that point because it sounded serious.

Has anybody allowed Forscan to load the sbl and if so, did you let it download from the internet or did you get it elsewhere? I read some posts on the Forscan site about a collected pack of sbl's but was a little leery of this.

Does anyone know what the software is actually doing during this stage and has anyone been through this?

I think I need a little hand holding, not looking to brick my daily driver.

Thanks in advance,

Dan


fishcat is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2019, 06:48 PM   #2
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 409817
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL Hatch

Posts: 180
Points 174, Level 3
Points: 174, Level: 3 Points: 174, Level: 3 Points: 174, Level: 3
Level Up 48% Completed
Level up: 48% Level up: 48% Level up: 48%
Forum Activity 17%
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
FF Reputation: 1 Smalls89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes, it's fine, to my knowledge forscan dl's a sbl so it can communicate more specifically with your vehicle
Smalls89 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2019, 06:50 PM   #3
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 409817
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL Hatch

Posts: 180
Points 174, Level 3
Points: 174, Level: 3 Points: 174, Level: 3 Points: 174, Level: 3
Level Up 48% Completed
Level up: 48% Level up: 48% Level up: 48%
Forum Activity 17%
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
FF Reputation: 1 Smalls89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Side not, once forscan gathered your vehicles info, there is a backup bottom, click it and save it just in case, and for good measure, never sever the connection when it is reading, and especially when it is writing, let it finish what it is doing or you very well may end up with a brick on wheels...
Smalls89 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-20-2019, 09:56 AM   #4
Focus Enthusiast
 
stayboogy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Fan#: 248321
Location: Nashville, TN
What I Drive: 2012 Tuxedo Black Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 165
Points 2,157, Level 28
Points: 2,157, Level: 28 Points: 2,157, Level: 28 Points: 2,157, Level: 28
Level Up 5% Completed
Level up: 5% Level up: 5% Level up: 5%
Forum Activity 8%
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
FF Reputation: 4 stayboogy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishcat View Post
I've used Focccus in the past to enable/mod functions but was always uneasy with the software because odd things would happen occasionally. I decided to install and tryout Forscan and when I selected the central config a message popped up about loading a secondary bootloader into the PCM. I canceled at that point because it sounded serious.

Has anybody allowed Forscan to load the sbl and if so, did you let it download from the internet or did you get it elsewhere? I read some posts on the Forscan site about a collected pack of sbl's but was a little leery of this.

Does anyone know what the software is actually doing during this stage and has anyone been through this?

I think I need a little hand holding, not looking to brick my daily driver.

Thanks in advance,

Dan
with my 2012, I've done all my BCM/IPC editing in Forscan because it is so much better than FoCCCus by a long shot. I use Forscan for everything and it has never borked my vehicle

When it comes to loading the secondary bootloader, this must be something specific for newer year models as Forscan automatically loads whatever is necessary on my 2012, and I did not have to download anything extra.

as long as you have the proper SBL for your year and model, there should be no problem. i don't know all the technical specifics of how the bootloader works but it does control some part of the security so using the wrong one will most likely just not pull the as-built data of your vehicle

You will need an extended license if you want to use anything in the central config editing tools though. it's free from the forscan site and takes maybe an hour of wait time to get.
stayboogy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2019, 12:20 AM   #5
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 409817
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL Hatch

Posts: 180
Points 174, Level 3
Points: 174, Level: 3 Points: 174, Level: 3 Points: 174, Level: 3
Level Up 48% Completed
Level up: 48% Level up: 48% Level up: 48%
Forum Activity 17%
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
FF Reputation: 1 Smalls89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hmm.... It downloaded a sbl for my 2012, it only does it once then reuses it. Maybe it is just mine. Pretty sure my BCM and/or IPM have been replaced (the IPM was not programmed when I got it)...

And on that note, be sure to also hit the 'write to backup' button. The BCM (main) is on the HS network which is what everything pulls config from, the IPM (backup) is on the MS network which is what provides config if the BCM can't be contacted.

(This may be false but it is how I understood it while dicking around trying to find out why the car was acting weird, the IPM (backup) wasn't programmed, it was loaded with nothing but hex F)
Smalls89 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2019, 07:20 AM   #6
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90434
Location: western ma, MA
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus S

Posts: 64
Points 475, Level 9
Points: 475, Level: 9 Points: 475, Level: 9 Points: 475, Level: 9
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 fishcat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
thanks for the info. I'll be trying this on my 2012 this weekend and I'll let you know how it goes. I already have the extended license so I should be able to try it out.

thanks
fishcat is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2019, 01:48 PM   #7
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90434
Location: western ma, MA
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus S

Posts: 64
Points 475, Level 9
Points: 475, Level: 9 Points: 475, Level: 9 Points: 475, Level: 9
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 fishcat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm able to access the central config ok but now I have further questions so hopefully someone with Forscan experience will have answers:

1. I installed the audio control switches in the steering wheel (airbag replacement) but the selection for steering wheel audio control is listed as not configured so I can't enable them, is there any way to enable this?
2. I installed a headlight switch assembly that includes the trunk release button but it doesn't do anything, is/can this be enabled with forscan?

Thanks in advance,

Dan
fishcat is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2019, 07:59 PM   #8
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90434
Location: western ma, MA
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus S

Posts: 64
Points 475, Level 9
Points: 475, Level: 9 Points: 475, Level: 9 Points: 475, Level: 9
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 fishcat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I was able to enable the audio control switches using Focccus since it populated the various settings for the central config. I'm not sure what you need to do with forscan so that settings appear for options that aren't in the cars as_built data. Oddly enough the audio controls that were enabled are the controls on the steering wheel and not the buttons on the airbag. Don't care as long as the functionality is there :)

The last task I'm hoping to enable is the trunk pop button in the headlight switch. I don't see any threads anywhere about this but I can't imagine I'm the only person looking to do this. Anyhow, if anyone has any insight on the trunk release function for a headlight switch assembly, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks
fishcat is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2019, 11:16 AM   #9
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 409817
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL Hatch

Posts: 180
Points 174, Level 3
Points: 174, Level: 3 Points: 174, Level: 3 Points: 174, Level: 3
Level Up 48% Completed
Level up: 48% Level up: 48% Level up: 48%
Forum Activity 17%
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
FF Reputation: 1 Smalls89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i didnt know the trunk release was an option... mine doesnt have it lol. Ive got a single big fog light button
https://parts.ford.com/shop/en/us/sw...tionId:4407899

but imma look into switching this out
https://parts.ford.com/shop/en/us/sw...tionId:4407899

let me know if you get it figured out
Smalls89 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-04-2019, 09:55 AM   #10
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90434
Location: western ma, MA
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus S

Posts: 64
Points 475, Level 9
Points: 475, Level: 9 Points: 475, Level: 9 Points: 475, Level: 9
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 fishcat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
so here's the problem, apparently the trunk release button was never offered in 2012 so I am starting to think the code isn't in place in the BCM to turn this function on. If it is present then I think the only option is to find two identical 2013's, one with the trunk release and one without, and compare their as-built files to find the bit that turns the function on and try it.
fishcat is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Focus Centennial Edition Sedan
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FoCCCus Central ECU Config Edit SilverPony2001 MK3 Focus 1370 01-16-2019 04:13 PM
FORscan and FoCCCus! Difference between BCM and IPC? Clearing DTCs? rczrider MK3 Focus 1 11-23-2018 08:05 PM
2000 Focus central UNlock only... xkoote General Technical Chat 0 12-13-2017 01:31 PM
focus central locking gushog General Technical Chat 1 04-17-2012 11:40 AM
My SVT Service History... ARG!!! technyne SVT Performance (2002-2004) 9 10-12-2008 02:36 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1