Cruise Control - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest

Like Tree4Likes
Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2018, 04:17 PM   #1
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Fan#: 407713
Posts: 6
Points 2, Level 1
Points: 2, Level: 1 Points: 2, Level: 1 Points: 2, Level: 1
Level Up 3% Completed
Level up: 3% Level up: 3% Level up: 3%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 clownfocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Cruise Control

I have a 2016 Ford Focus S w/automatic trans. I am trying to add cruise control. I have already installed a factory Focus steering wheel with the cruise buttons on it. When I log into FoCCCus, it loads fine, but when I try to read the BCM I get a pop up window that states "can't enter security into ECU". The first ELM cord I bought from Walmart said bad clone. The one I have now is from Scan tool and links to the car fine with FORScan. Does anyone have a suggestion?


clownfocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-04-2018, 06:01 AM   #2
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Fan#: 360089
Location: Tega Cay, SC
What I Drive: 2016 Base SE Hatchback, 2.0l, DCT

Posts: 49
Points 560, Level 11
Points: 560, Level: 11 Points: 560, Level: 11 Points: 560, Level: 11
Level Up 20% Completed
Level up: 20% Level up: 20% Level up: 20%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 1 chiefbs Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Use FORScan to do it

Quote:
Originally Posted by clownfocus View Post
I have a 2016 Ford Focus S w/automatic trans. I am trying to add cruise control. I have already installed a factory Focus steering wheel with the cruise buttons on it. When I log into FoCCCus, it loads fine, but when I try to read the BCM I get a pop up window that states "can't enter security into ECU". The first ELM cord I bought from Walmart said bad clone. The one I have now is from Scan tool and links to the car fine with FORScan. Does anyone have a suggestion?
I added selectshift to my base 2016 SE using Forscan. You can do the same for yours, as well as adding cruise. When you add selectshift, "L" becomes
"S" on your dash and it moves all the shift points up. It will still shift automatically. I added a 2017 Escape steering wheel with paddle shifters and it was plug and play. So now I can manually shift the gears. My base SE clockspring had all the wiring to it. I bet yours does too.

To do it:

Connect via Forscan, select BdyCM (Central Configuration) under "Configuration and Programming". When you run that, your car will make all sorts of noises and flashes. Warnings will show up on your dash. Normal. Don't interrupt it. Follow the on-screen prompts. Once it runs, save your as-built to your computer in case you screw it up.

To add sport mode: Go to the last item on the list (Shifter type), and change it to (select shift tech (SST) with thumb switch on gearshift.

To add cruise, find the line for cruise and change it .

Hit save (or load). Again, car will flash and make lots of noises. Don't panic. Let it finish. Then reset all the DTC's it creates. It will create a bunch. Done. You may need to cycle your ignition a couple of times to get it to work.

Good luck!
chiefbs is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2018, 11:15 PM   #3
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Fan#: 407713
Posts: 6
Points 2, Level 1
Points: 2, Level: 1 Points: 2, Level: 1 Points: 2, Level: 1
Level Up 3% Completed
Level up: 3% Level up: 3% Level up: 3%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 clownfocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
To use Forscan to add cruise control, do I need the extended license? I played around with it this morning and couldn’t find cruise control functions any where. Some functions of Forscan request extended license.
clownfocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-2018, 04:48 AM   #4
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Fan#: 360089
Location: Tega Cay, SC
What I Drive: 2016 Base SE Hatchback, 2.0l, DCT

Posts: 49
Points 560, Level 11
Points: 560, Level: 11 Points: 560, Level: 11 Points: 560, Level: 11
Level Up 20% Completed
Level up: 20% Level up: 20% Level up: 20%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 1 chiefbs Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
How to get a FORSCAN extended license

Quote:
Originally Posted by clownfocus View Post
To use Forscan to add cruise control, do I need the extended license? I played around with it this morning and couldn’t find cruise control functions any where. Some functions of Forscan request extended license.
Yes, you need an extended license. To get one is free. I've done at least 25 FORSCAN changes on my 2015 F150. Forscan basics are posted on the F150 form at: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...gF1wxIqxY/edit
chiefbs is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2018, 05:12 PM   #5
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Fan#: 407713
Posts: 6
Points 2, Level 1
Points: 2, Level: 1 Points: 2, Level: 1 Points: 2, Level: 1
Level Up 3% Completed
Level up: 3% Level up: 3% Level up: 3%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 clownfocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thank you for your help. I finally got time to do it. The process was pretty simple after knowing what I need to accomplish it.
clownfocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2018, 06:51 PM   #6
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Fan#: 360089
Location: Tega Cay, SC
What I Drive: 2016 Base SE Hatchback, 2.0l, DCT

Posts: 49
Points 560, Level 11
Points: 560, Level: 11 Points: 560, Level: 11 Points: 560, Level: 11
Level Up 20% Completed
Level up: 20% Level up: 20% Level up: 20%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 1 chiefbs Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by clownfocus View Post
Thank you for your help. I finally got time to do it. The process was pretty simple after knowing what I need to accomplish it.
No problem! Glad it worked out.
chiefbs is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2019, 11:23 PM   #7
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 409847
Posts: 5
Points 3, Level 1
Points: 3, Level: 1 Points: 3, Level: 1 Points: 3, Level: 1
Level Up 5% Completed
Level up: 5% Level up: 5% Level up: 5%
Forum Activity 12%
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
FF Reputation: 1 Clownfocus7 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
2018 ford focus S

Hi I am trying to put cruise control on my 2018 ford focus s. I ordered the part to put on my steering wheel and wanted to use forscan to make the cruise control work. Is this possible or do i need to buy the steering wheel that already has it and change it out.
Clownfocus7 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2019, 10:49 AM   #8
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Fan#: 407713
Posts: 6
Points 2, Level 1
Points: 2, Level: 1 Points: 2, Level: 1 Points: 2, Level: 1
Level Up 3% Completed
Level up: 3% Level up: 3% Level up: 3%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 clownfocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I bought a whole steering wheel from ebay for $75. I would think it is possible to just add the components. I would think its a lot more in depth. Honestly, if I were you, I would send the parts back and check ebay or a junk yard. Changing the steering wheel out only takes about 15 minutes. When you take out the airbag to get to the bolt, ensure you disconnect the battery.
clownfocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2019, 11:29 PM   #9
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Fan#: 409847
Posts: 5
Points 3, Level 1
Points: 3, Level: 1 Points: 3, Level: 1 Points: 3, Level: 1
Level Up 5% Completed
Level up: 5% Level up: 5% Level up: 5%
Forum Activity 12%
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
FF Reputation: 1 Clownfocus7 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
How exactly did you use forscan to do it.... was the process easy. I have the extended version already and i opened it up and looked around but didn't see how this was going to be possible. Any tips would be helpful. and i have been looking for the whole steering wheel but so far its not looking easy. I dont mind adding the part to the steering wheel i just didn't know if other components are on the steering wheel that makes the cruise control work.
Clownfocus7 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2019, 11:34 AM   #10
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Fan#: 407713
Posts: 6
Points 2, Level 1
Points: 2, Level: 1 Points: 2, Level: 1 Points: 2, Level: 1
Level Up 3% Completed
Level up: 3% Level up: 3% Level up: 3%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 clownfocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The process was not hard. I used FORscan 2.3.20 beta for windows with a scantool ELM327. With the extended license. Connection was established with the bottom left icon. After connecting on the left side go under the configuration and programming. The program has to read the cars computer before you can program it. It may take a few minutes for the computer to be read. You will end up with a long list of options. Cruise control is about 3/4 of the way down. Toggle the option and write. Some people suggest saving the stock configuration to your computer encase anything goes wrong. As far as the plu goes. I am pretty sure that there is no difference in the plug. Probably just have to add the wires to the existing plug.
clownfocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Focus Centennial Edition Sedan
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1