TPMS fault and no AC with other electrical issues - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Second Generation > MK2 Focus

MK2 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the second generation 2008-2011 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2018, 06:21 PM   #1
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80244
Location: Port Jefferson Station, NY
What I Drive: 2011 black se

Posts: 73
Points 444, Level 8
Points: 444, Level: 8 Points: 444, Level: 8 Points: 444, Level: 8
Level Up 88% Completed
Level up: 88% Level up: 88% Level up: 88%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Stevo1390 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
TPMS fault and no AC with other electrical issues

Hello everybody, I know this is a duplicate post but I keep hitting walls with this issue. 2011 SE 109k

I've been getting the TPMS fault message all of the time, I switched out all tire sensors and retrained them over a dozen times. The TPMS fault, when it occurs (99.9 percent of the time) seems to disable some illuminations of the dash properly as well as not enable the AC to kick on.

I've tried using the AC with no message and it works perfectly fine but gets hot again right when the message pops up. turn signals, brights use, etc won't work properly either.

Ford keeps telling me to retrain the sensors "over and over and it should fix it" but I feel this is not the case since the retrain shouldn't take 50 relearns to function. I don't know what this could possibly due to if it's not the sensors.

On a possible side note, when I turn the car on and hold info down I get a "check brake system" notification before the TPMS takes over. Now I believe the TPMS all are read through the ABS system in these foci? All brakes and fluids are in check as well. That notification has been there for quite some time before the TPMS issues arose.

apologies for the lengthy post but I don't know where to turn as I refuse to pay for hours of diagnostics labor through ford over this issue if there is something else I can do.


Stevo1390 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-17-2018, 06:40 PM   #2
Focus Addict
 
zacautomotive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Fan#: 402829
Location: Pleasant Garden, NC
What I Drive: 2010 Ford Focus,2017 Ford Fiesta ST

Posts: 675
Points 766, Level 14
Points: 766, Level: 14 Points: 766, Level: 14 Points: 766, Level: 14
Level Up 66% Completed
Level up: 66% Level up: 66% Level up: 66%
Forum Activity 99%
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
FF Reputation: 2 zacautomotive Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
There's no need to retrain those wheel sensors. I got a set of wheels off of somebody else that had tire pressure monitor sensors in them, and it worked instantly. I don't know what part of the car communicates with the sensors, but that has to be the part that's the problem I guess. I don't believe your tire pressure monitor sensors would mess up the car it's got to be some type of module that's causing all these problems. Without a factory scan tool to read these modules I just don't know how to help, but hopefully somebody can chime in.

Sent from my LG-LS997 using FF Mobile

Last edited by zacautomotive; 07-17-2018 at 06:44 PM.
zacautomotive is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2018, 12:27 PM   #3
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80244
Location: Port Jefferson Station, NY
What I Drive: 2011 black se

Posts: 73
Points 444, Level 8
Points: 444, Level: 8 Points: 444, Level: 8 Points: 444, Level: 8
Level Up 88% Completed
Level up: 88% Level up: 88% Level up: 88%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Stevo1390 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks for the response, nobody has any answers and I've said it before but the Ford techs I spoke to say it'll just go away which I feel is BS. Its an annoying issue and I know it will be labor intensive to diagnose if I bring it to Ford for them to give me a runaround. I appreciate any advice out there.

Last edited by Stevo1390; 07-23-2018 at 12:44 PM.
Stevo1390 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2018, 12:17 PM   #4
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80244
Location: Port Jefferson Station, NY
What I Drive: 2011 black se

Posts: 73
Points 444, Level 8
Points: 444, Level: 8 Points: 444, Level: 8 Points: 444, Level: 8
Level Up 88% Completed
Level up: 88% Level up: 88% Level up: 88%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Stevo1390 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Update: after weeks of searching for the culprit, I came to the conclusion the instrument cluster is on its way out. I found this through a random mechanic forum, to verify I "accidentally" struck my cluster and the issue subsided for a bit.

Of course a new cluster goes for roughly 200 from village ford, and a second key (lost my spare) and 2 hours of labor will be needed to reprogram a new one to my car.
Stevo1390 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2019, 04:25 PM   #5
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80244
Location: Port Jefferson Station, NY
What I Drive: 2011 black se

Posts: 73
Points 444, Level 8
Points: 444, Level: 8 Points: 444, Level: 8 Points: 444, Level: 8
Level Up 88% Completed
Level up: 88% Level up: 88% Level up: 88%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Stevo1390 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Update: I finally had the cluster replaced with a used one off ebay. Sure enough after reprogramming the new cluster, the issues all went away.
Stevo1390 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1