Oil Leak - Gearbox Side - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace

Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Focus

MK1 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the first generation 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2018, 07:05 PM   #1
Focus Rookie

Fan#: 404825
Points 9, Level 1
Points: 9, Level: 1 Points: 9, Level: 1 Points: 9, Level: 1
Level Up 17% Completed
Level up: 17% Level up: 17% Level up: 17%
Forum Activity 7%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
FF Reputation: 1 Scoobydoo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Oil Leak - Gearbox Side

Hi. Newbie here.

My Focus 1.8tddi (2000) runs like magic. 222,000 miles on the clock. I keep it well maintained but the engine developed it's first an oil leak a few months ago and I can't seem to figure out where it's leaking from. It must be coming from the gearbox side as it seems to only be the gearbox and surrounding area that is drenched in oil.

I've replaced the usual suspects - oil pressure switch, rocker cover gasket and even a new crankshaft seal (gearbox side) but there is still plenty of oil on the appearing on the gearbox. I've checked hoses and pipes and nothing is split etc. All the injectors are sealed and no presence of oil.

Problem is that when I jet wash the gearbox and leave the engine running there is no obvious drip of oil. Yet when I've been out for a drive there is fresh oil on the gearbox housing (definitely not gearbox oil) so it must be occurring while the engine is under load.