Problem with fuel pump circuit. 2001 zx3 - Page 3 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest

Like Tree4Likes
Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2019, 10:23 PM   #21
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 15,209
Points 9,388, Level 65
Points: 9,388, Level: 65 Points: 9,388, Level: 65 Points: 9,388, Level: 65
Level Up 13% Completed
Level up: 13% Level up: 13% Level up: 13%
Forum Activity 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
FF Reputation: 62 amc49 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Those should show up as a possible vacuum leak or an evap system leak.

'...you aren't getting enough current, even though the voltage is fine.'

True and can be a hard one to find. Broken wire inside insulation. A say 35 strand wire with 32 of the strands broken will still show 12 volts in testing over the 3 strands left but will not pass enough amp to power the device. It was a common fail on Contour HVAC blowers, Ford specified too small a connector at the blower lead to fusebox and it overheated to begin breaking wire strands to then have current to blower check out at 12 volt all day long but the blowers barely or wouldn't work when plugged in, they worked by themselves fine.
cheap sleeper likes this.
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-06-2019, 11:17 PM   #22
Focus Fanatic
 
cheap sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Fan#: 59848
Location: florida, FL
What I Drive: 2001 black zx3

Posts: 1,709
Points 3,318, Level 35
Points: 3,318, Level: 35 Points: 3,318, Level: 35 Points: 3,318, Level: 35
Level Up 79% Completed
Level up: 79% Level up: 79% Level up: 79%
Forum Activity 23%
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
FF Reputation: 5 cheap sleeper Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by amc49 View Post
Those should show up as a possible vacuum leak or an evap system leak.

'...you aren't getting enough current, even though the voltage is fine.'

True and can be a hard one to find. Broken wire inside insulation. A say 35 strand wire with 32 of the strands broken will still show 12 volts in testing over the 3 strands left but will not pass enough amp to power the device. It was a common fail on Contour HVAC blowers, Ford specified too small a connector at the blower lead to fusebox and it overheated to begin breaking wire strands to then have current to blower check out at 12 volt all day long but the blowers barely or wouldn't work when plugged in, they worked by themselves fine.
A coworker back in the day had that exact problem with his Contour.
Took him forever to get it figured out.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I527 using FF Mobile
cheap sleeper is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2019, 03:15 PM   #23
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2007
Fan#: 47195
Location: Vancouver, WA
What I Drive: 2001 Silver ZX3

Posts: 25
Points 4, Level 1
Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1
Level Up 7% Completed
Level up: 7% Level up: 7% Level up: 7%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 antihero43 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Anyone know what the current draw of a good fuel pump should be? I have loads of connectors and wires i could use to make a series harness for my DMM. Then atleast ill know if its getting proper amount or not.
antihero43 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-08-2019, 05:28 PM   #24
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 15,209
Points 9,388, Level 65
Points: 9,388, Level: 65 Points: 9,388, Level: 65 Points: 9,388, Level: 65
Level Up 13% Completed
Level up: 13% Level up: 13% Level up: 13%
Forum Activity 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
FF Reputation: 62 amc49 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Not a clue. Look at fuse for a guess, mine would be 3-5 amp. Fuse is usually 2-3X bigger.
__________________
Fix the driver first, then fixing the car becomes so much easier..........
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2019, 07:05 PM   #25
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2007
Fan#: 47195
Location: Vancouver, WA
What I Drive: 2001 Silver ZX3

Posts: 25
Points 4, Level 1
Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1
Level Up 7% Completed
Level up: 7% Level up: 7% Level up: 7%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 antihero43 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Nice suggestion, didnt even think of that. I googled, came up with a video on someone working on a 04 escape, different motor, but the fuel system is ran the same way. They said 4-8 amps, which makes sense with a 15amp fuse we run.
antihero43 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2019, 12:42 AM   #26
Focus Fanatic
 
cheap sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Fan#: 59848
Location: florida, FL
What I Drive: 2001 black zx3

Posts: 1,709
Points 3,318, Level 35
Points: 3,318, Level: 35 Points: 3,318, Level: 35 Points: 3,318, Level: 35
Level Up 79% Completed
Level up: 79% Level up: 79% Level up: 79%
Forum Activity 23%
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
FF Reputation: 5 cheap sleeper Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by antihero43 View Post
Nice suggestion, didnt even think of that. I googled, came up with a video on someone working on a 04 escape, different motor, but the fuel system is ran the same way. They said 4-8 amps, which makes sense with a 15amp fuse we run.
Does your fuel tank burp fuel back out if you try to fill it too fast?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I527 using FF Mobile
cheap sleeper is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2019, 07:20 AM   #27
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2007
Fan#: 47195
Location: Vancouver, WA
What I Drive: 2001 Silver ZX3

Posts: 25
Points 4, Level 1
Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1
Level Up 7% Completed
Level up: 7% Level up: 7% Level up: 7%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 antihero43 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheap sleeper View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by antihero43 View Post
Nice suggestion, didnt even think of that. I googled, came up with a video on someone working on a 04 escape, different motor, but the fuel system is ran the same way. They said 4-8 amps, which makes sense with a 15amp fuse we run.
Does your fuel tank burp fuel back out if you try to fill it too fast?
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I527 using FF Mobile
No it doesnt.
antihero43 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2019, 06:49 PM   #28
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2007
Fan#: 47195
Location: Vancouver, WA
What I Drive: 2001 Silver ZX3

Posts: 25
Points 4, Level 1
Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1
Level Up 7% Completed
Level up: 7% Level up: 7% Level up: 7%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 antihero43 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Update. Its been fixed but i figured id update with the actual problem for future problems. So as thought, current output to the fuel pump was low. There was high resistance in the wire from the fuse block to the inertia switch. The whole wire had to be replaced. So low current due to high resistance going to the inertia switch can cause fuel pump not priming or running properly but also throw code P1237.
amc49 likes this.
antihero43 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Focus Centennial Edition Sedan
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1