SCT X3 / LiveLink Data Logging Issue - Page 2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2009, 07:39 AM   #11
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,596, Level 30
Points: 2,596, Level: 30 Points: 2,596, Level: 30 Points: 2,596, Level: 30
Level Up 98% Completed
Level up: 98% Level up: 98% Level up: 98%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BradWhite View Post
Thank you for reminding me, I have tried data logging directly to the X3 and that doesn't work either!

I can not log anything directly to the X3. Even if I only select one item to log, like battery voltage, it errors out after about 5 seconds and says "Communication Lost!".

And I know it's 5 seconds because the selected PIDs show on the screen (never with any values though) and the timer is running at the top of the screen before I get the error.
As has already been stated the on device with the 08+ has issues.

This appears to be something unique to the 08+ focus processor as the analogs are used regularly with this version of livelink and other proccssors.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2009, 09:42 AM   #12
pwned
 
tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Fan#: 60621
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: 2009 Black Clearcoat SES Sedan

Posts: 4,712
Points 13,912, Level 76
Points: 13,912, Level: 76 Points: 13,912, Level: 76 Points: 13,912, Level: 76
Level Up 66% Completed
Level up: 66% Level up: 66% Level up: 66%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 10 tetra Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMITHBOY76908 View Post
hmm... I'm not sure about the autometer wideband but for the AEM, you have to put in an equation for the analog to read correctly. On livelink, once you select your configuration with analog, right click on the analog and there should be something for editing analog or analog options, something like that. It'll ask for an equation and put in V*2+10. That should give you an accurate reading.
I got myself an AEM wideband, thanks for that info. I hope it'll work for datalogging or else I bought it for nothing..
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
tetra is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2009, 10:01 AM   #13
Head Hurt
 
BradWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 54975
Location: University Place, Wa, WA
What I Drive: 08 Sedan SE Vista Blue

Posts: 2,377
FF Reputation: 174 BradWhite Excellent Standing Member BradWhite Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blivit View Post
As has already been stated the on device with the 08+ has issues.

This appears to be something unique to the 08+ focus processor as the analogs are used regularly with this version of livelink and other proccssors.
Thanks, I hadn't heard about the "on device" issues. That doesn't matter to me as I'd rather use LiveLink anyway.

I kind of figured it was going come down to something to do with that damn 08 processor. I'd sure like to know why Ford decided to make life difficult for everyone.

Seeing as how being able to data log the A/F ratio is such a critical part of tuning can we assume the SCT is looking into a solution for this?
__________________
Best wishes and keep on modding April 2009 SOTM, July 2009 ROTM, 2009 FF ROTY

RIFF CREW, Sedan Revolution #137, TEAM Duratec #181, Bremerton Raceway #658, NW POSSE #6
BradWhite is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2009, 10:24 AM   #14
pwned
 
tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Fan#: 60621
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: 2009 Black Clearcoat SES Sedan

Posts: 4,712
Points 13,912, Level 76
Points: 13,912, Level: 76 Points: 13,912, Level: 76 Points: 13,912, Level: 76
Level Up 66% Completed
Level up: 66% Level up: 66% Level up: 66%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 10 tetra Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
If worst comes to worst can't you just document the readings from the A/F gauge and give those numbers to Tom? Obviously the gauge will tell you if you're running rich at WOT. You'll know you're WOT when the gauge has a steady reading instead of moving around at closed loop.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
tetra is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2009, 12:35 PM   #15
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 30,092
Points 100,853, Level 100
Points: 100,853, Level: 100 Points: 100,853, Level: 100 Points: 100,853, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 89%
Activity: 89% Activity: 89% Activity: 89%
FF Reputation: 160 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (31)
Yes he can just tell me what the AF is , at each 1000 rpm , some one riding with him so he can drive is needed

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Phone: 704-249-3745
Site:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2009, 02:22 PM   #16
Head Hurt
 
BradWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 54975
Location: University Place, Wa, WA
What I Drive: 08 Sedan SE Vista Blue

Posts: 2,377
FF Reputation: 174 BradWhite Excellent Standing Member BradWhite Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
LOL - I was thinking of just pointing a video camera at it for you Tom.
__________________
Best wishes and keep on modding April 2009 SOTM, July 2009 ROTM, 2009 FF ROTY

RIFF CREW, Sedan Revolution #137, TEAM Duratec #181, Bremerton Raceway #658, NW POSSE #6
BradWhite is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2009, 05:03 PM   #17
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Fan#: 41593
Posts: 144
FF Reputation: 4 HIGDON Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damage View Post
If I remeber correctly, when I datalog the wideband signal I forgot to plug in the firewire once and it didnt give me an error, it just set at one value and didnt change. Did you try datalogging directly to the x3 and not using the livelink for now?
mine does this WITH the firewire connected. logs a steady 10.0. I've tried using input 1 and input 2, used v*8.68+10 as the equation and still nothing. only option now is to move the input from the orange wire to the red and see if that works...why is this so difficult!?
HIGDON is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2009, 05:06 PM   #18
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,596, Level 30
Points: 2,596, Level: 30 Points: 2,596, Level: 30 Points: 2,596, Level: 30
Level Up 98% Completed
Level up: 98% Level up: 98% Level up: 98%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
That just means you are not getting any voltage. Check your connections and wiring.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HIGDON View Post
mine does this WITH the firewire connected. logs a steady 10.0. I've tried using input 1 and input 2, used v*8.68+10 as the equation and still nothing. only option now is to move the input from the orange wire to the red and see if that works...why is this so difficult!?
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2009, 10:08 PM   #19
Head Hurt
 
BradWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 54975
Location: University Place, Wa, WA
What I Drive: 08 Sedan SE Vista Blue

Posts: 2,377
FF Reputation: 174 BradWhite Excellent Standing Member BradWhite Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Hi Blivit, so any chance you guys (SCT) are still working on this and we maybe able to data log via the analog inputs soon. Or should we be looking for a work around for this?

I for one would like to thank you for your attention here on FF and keeping us up to date as well as helping us through things.
__________________
Best wishes and keep on modding April 2009 SOTM, July 2009 ROTM, 2009 FF ROTY

RIFF CREW, Sedan Revolution #137, TEAM Duratec #181, Bremerton Raceway #658, NW POSSE #6
BradWhite is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2009, 02:38 PM   #20
pwned
 
tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Fan#: 60621
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: 2009 Black Clearcoat SES Sedan

Posts: 4,712
Points 13,912, Level 76
Points: 13,912, Level: 76 Points: 13,912, Level: 76 Points: 13,912, Level: 76
Level Up 66% Completed
Level up: 66% Level up: 66% Level up: 66%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 10 tetra Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
http://www.tricktuners.com/data_logging_info.htm
Have you seen this Brad? Does this help at all?

I asked Blivit about it and he said they aren't working to resolve the problem yet :(
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
tetra is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Focus Centennial Edition Sedan
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: SCT raptor 1turbozx3 BST Archive 4 10-24-2005 08:02 PM
SCT Raptor ( CANT BEAT THIS PRICE ) 1turbofocus Focus-Power Tuning 8 04-07-2005 11:33 PM
Do I miss my FS SCT Tune!! denzillion SVT Performance (2002-2004) 53 02-03-2005 12:54 AM
SCT issue?? smoknzx3 General Technical Chat 11 01-18-2005 02:26 PM
Data logger and sct tuning racer pro petik General Technical Chat 2 11-29-2004 03:38 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1