New air filter causing problem - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance (2012-Current)

DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance (2012-Current) The place to chat about any Duratec 2.0L Ti-VCT engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest

Like Tree6Likes
Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2018, 04:13 PM   #1
Focus Rookie
 
Tac_Sub_Pressure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Fan#: 407641
Location: Sumter, SC
What I Drive: 2016 Magnetic Gray Focus SE

Posts: 17
Points 10, Level 1
Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1
Level Up 19% Completed
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 Tac_Sub_Pressure Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
New air filter causing problem

I changed my air filter the other day with the green filter 7159. It idles fine, however at constant speed there seems to be an almost tugging feeling on the car, the rpm seems to fluctuate up and down + and - 200rpm. I thought it was weird, put the old stock filter back on, no problem, ran perfect. I checked one more thing and removed the filter completely, did another test and the sensation and rpm revving was much worse. It seems to be the car doesn't enjoy unrestricted air flow. Any ideas on what would cause this? Never heard anyone have a problem from simply changing the air filter, cheers.


Tac_Sub_Pressure is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2018, 04:57 PM   #2
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105046
Location: ., CA
What I Drive: .

Posts: 533
Points 2,732, Level 31
Points: 2,732, Level: 31 Points: 2,732, Level: 31 Points: 2,732, Level: 31
Level Up 88% Completed
Level up: 88% Level up: 88% Level up: 88%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 ProjectCommuter Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Did you disconnect the battery when you changed the filter to reset the air/fuel learned data? That might help. You can run the risk of running lean if you do not.
Try disconnecting the battery for say, 15 minutes or so. Then reconnect it and let it idle for a while and warm up completely. Then take it for an easy drive and see if that helps.
My .02 cents.
ProjectCommuter is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2018, 06:43 PM   #3
Focus Rookie
 
Tac_Sub_Pressure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Fan#: 407641
Location: Sumter, SC
What I Drive: 2016 Magnetic Gray Focus SE

Posts: 17
Points 10, Level 1
Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1
Level Up 19% Completed
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 Tac_Sub_Pressure Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes I did that, still no change. I even tried to just drive it for the computer to relearn it, and still no good.
Tac_Sub_Pressure is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2018, 07:44 PM   #4
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105046
Location: ., CA
What I Drive: .

Posts: 533
Points 2,732, Level 31
Points: 2,732, Level: 31 Points: 2,732, Level: 31 Points: 2,732, Level: 31
Level Up 88% Completed
Level up: 88% Level up: 88% Level up: 88%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 ProjectCommuter Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hmm. Was this with the end cap on or off? How dirty was your original filter?
ProjectCommuter is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2018, 08:46 PM   #5
Focus Rookie
 
Tac_Sub_Pressure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Fan#: 407641
Location: Sumter, SC
What I Drive: 2016 Magnetic Gray Focus SE

Posts: 17
Points 10, Level 1
Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1
Level Up 19% Completed
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 Tac_Sub_Pressure Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The old filter isn't dirty at all, and the stock one has the closed end. The new filter is open jaw design
Tac_Sub_Pressure is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2018, 10:01 PM   #6
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105046
Location: ., CA
What I Drive: .

Posts: 533
Points 2,732, Level 31
Points: 2,732, Level: 31 Points: 2,732, Level: 31 Points: 2,732, Level: 31
Level Up 88% Completed
Level up: 88% Level up: 88% Level up: 88%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 ProjectCommuter Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Well I gotta say I'm stumped. I don't know why there would be a problem with a filter change. The volume should not be that great of a difference. Maybe Tom or one of the more experienced members has an idea.
Either way get a tune from Tom. He can fix it right up.
ProjectCommuter is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2018, 08:53 AM   #7
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Fan#: 347458
Location: Sherwood, AR
What I Drive: 2018 Silver Focus Titanium Hatch

Posts: 439
Points 14,217, Level 77
Points: 14,217, Level: 77 Points: 14,217, Level: 77 Points: 14,217, Level: 77
Level Up 42% Completed
Level up: 42% Level up: 42% Level up: 42%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Colossus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
More then likely you got oil on your MAF! The Green filter is like a K&N and needs to be oiled and to much oil can accumulate on the MAF and throw the readings way out of whack.

I would take the filter off and wipe it off with a micro fiber towel to get as much oil off of it but don' t wipe to hard. You can also leave it sitting overnight standing up to let the oil run off and then wipe it off. This should help out. This is very common with any oiled filter, and why I switched to AEM and Airaid Dry Flow filters.

Below is a cleaning how to from NAPA on the MAF.
How to Clean Your MAF Sensor
Colossus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2018, 10:32 AM   #8
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105046
Location: ., CA
What I Drive: .

Posts: 533
Points 2,732, Level 31
Points: 2,732, Level: 31 Points: 2,732, Level: 31 Points: 2,732, Level: 31
Level Up 88% Completed
Level up: 88% Level up: 88% Level up: 88%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 ProjectCommuter Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
That would sure do it but why would it be back to normal when the oem filter is put back in?
ProjectCommuter is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2018, 01:49 PM   #9
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Fan#: 347458
Location: Sherwood, AR
What I Drive: 2018 Silver Focus Titanium Hatch

Posts: 439
Points 14,217, Level 77
Points: 14,217, Level: 77 Points: 14,217, Level: 77 Points: 14,217, Level: 77
Level Up 42% Completed
Level up: 42% Level up: 42% Level up: 42%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Colossus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ok, some cowmen questions? What is your set up?

Stock Air Box?

If stock air box did the filter seat nice in tight as the original?

If not you might need a worm gear clamp to seal it to the air box.

Last edited by Colossus; 12-24-2018 at 01:50 PM. Reason: I Can't spell today...
Colossus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2018, 08:42 PM   #10
Focus Rookie
 
Tac_Sub_Pressure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Fan#: 407641
Location: Sumter, SC
What I Drive: 2016 Magnetic Gray Focus SE

Posts: 17
Points 10, Level 1
Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1 Points: 10, Level: 1
Level Up 19% Completed
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 Tac_Sub_Pressure Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Well I changed the air box. I have added a tube to direct air in and added a hood scoop.
Tac_Sub_Pressure is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1