Installed new aftermarket head unit and system - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest

Like Tree3Likes
Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2019, 03:30 PM   #1
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Fan#: 405713
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2018 White Focus ST

Posts: 13
Points 58, Level 1
Points: 58, Level: 1 Points: 58, Level: 1 Points: 58, Level: 1
Level Up 16% Completed
Level up: 16% Level up: 16% Level up: 16%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 fifthgear Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Installed new aftermarket head unit and system

I have a 2018 focus ST1 that I've only had a few months. Unfortunately I started having the speaker crackling even when car was turned off. After research here and on you-tube I discovered it was a common problem for some even though mine might be the earliest fail I have heard of. Since I really wanted built in navigation and other streaming capabilities that I didn't have I decided to buy a complete new system and not use any ford system.

I ended up buying the Kenwood DNX695S Excelon navigation receiver, Idatalink Maestro parts, SiriusXM tuner, Kicker KSC door speakers, Alpine SPS tweeters, and Rockford Fosgate punch PRB300 amp. I am really happy with the system. When programming the IdataLink Maestro I ended up just forgoing the sync option because it seemed redundant. The Kenwood gave me so much more than the simple sync I had anyway.

Here's a few pictures;


Attached Thumbnails
Installed new aftermarket head unit and system-kenwood4.jpg  

Installed new aftermarket head unit and system-gauges.jpg  

Installed new aftermarket head unit and system-kenwood2.jpg  

Installed new aftermarket head unit and system-rockfordf.jpg  

Drovira14 likes this.
fifthgear is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2019, 10:00 AM   #2
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48824
Location: a small town, OK
What I Drive: 2013 Ruby Red SE Hatchback

Posts: 1,302
Points 21,170, Level 91
Points: 21,170, Level: 91 Points: 21,170, Level: 91 Points: 21,170, Level: 91
Level Up 64% Completed
Level up: 64% Level up: 64% Level up: 64%
Forum Activity 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
FF Reputation: 12 firebirdude Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Cool.


....but the installer used up your glove box for the amp? You did that? Or you paid someone to do that?
firebirdude is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2019, 03:39 PM   #3
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Fan#: 405713
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2018 White Focus ST

Posts: 13
Points 58, Level 1
Points: 58, Level: 1 Points: 58, Level: 1 Points: 58, Level: 1
Level Up 16% Completed
Level up: 16% Level up: 16% Level up: 16%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 fifthgear Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by firebirdude View Post
Cool.


....but the installer used up your glove box for the amp? You did that? Or you paid someone to do that?
LOL. Yeah, I did it to myself since I was the installer. Even though the rail technology in that amp allows it to be tiny I didn't have many locations to choose from other then in the glove box or spare tire area. Even under the passenger seat was frame rails and mechanisms that just made it not worth the extra hassle. When I think about all the junk I never use stuffed in the glove boxes in the past I decided that all I really needed was a spot for my sunglasses case (which is still there next to the amp). It's worked out pretty well so far.

My original plan was to install it under the new receiver but the new panel has a long tray behind the opening door with a place to put cell phone etc while connected to one of the port connections inside it. That tray shell, above the connections that goes all the way back, was the only thing that stopped that idea by just fractions of an inch. I tried a long while but just not quite enough room. It would fit easily with the original equip. system.

Here's a picture of the open tray and connections:
Attached Thumbnails
Installed new aftermarket head unit and system-tray.jpg  

fifthgear is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2019, 04:31 PM   #4
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48824
Location: a small town, OK
What I Drive: 2013 Ruby Red SE Hatchback

Posts: 1,302
Points 21,170, Level 91
Points: 21,170, Level: 91 Points: 21,170, Level: 91 Points: 21,170, Level: 91
Level Up 64% Completed
Level up: 64% Level up: 64% Level up: 64%
Forum Activity 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
FF Reputation: 12 firebirdude Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I don't know on the 2018, but on the 2013, the entire glove box can be removed within a few minutes. Then there's TONS of space behind it. Pretty sure the BCM is back there. You'll see it with all the harnesses plugged into it. Secure the amp anywhere back there, reinstall glove box, forgot the amp is even there. Might not even have to extend/move the wires much.

Last edited by firebirdude; 01-26-2019 at 04:37 PM.
firebirdude is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2019, 09:33 PM   #5
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Fan#: 405713
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2018 White Focus ST

Posts: 13
Points 58, Level 1
Points: 58, Level: 1 Points: 58, Level: 1 Points: 58, Level: 1
Level Up 16% Completed
Level up: 16% Level up: 16% Level up: 16%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 fifthgear Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks for the tip firebirdude. I'll have to further investagate after removing glove box to see what's available maybe above . I know that directly behind is a flimsy cover that fits very flush to fuse box where I have run the power wires from auto dimming mirror, radar detector hot/ground ect with no room at all. But above the glove box rail there is possibly room where the access to airbag is likely to be located if it's anything like my dodge. But defiantly worth investigating. Thanks again.
fifthgear is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2019, 05:22 PM   #6
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Fan#: 334065
Location: wooster, OH
What I Drive: 2012 red focus se

Posts: 83
Points 590, Level 11
Points: 590, Level: 11 Points: 590, Level: 11 Points: 590, Level: 11
Level Up 80% Completed
Level up: 80% Level up: 80% Level up: 80%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 spots Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
unless you re running a sub. you dont need an amp. all radios have one built in to run the speakers. and if you are running a sub from that amp then it should be in the trunk with the sub.

plus im not shure the glove box will provide the cooling it needs. especially when the heat is on.

Last edited by spots; 02-16-2019 at 05:28 PM.
spots is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2019, 08:50 PM   #7
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48824
Location: a small town, OK
What I Drive: 2013 Ruby Red SE Hatchback

Posts: 1,302
Points 21,170, Level 91
Points: 21,170, Level: 91 Points: 21,170, Level: 91 Points: 21,170, Level: 91
Level Up 64% Completed
Level up: 64% Level up: 64% Level up: 64%
Forum Activity 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
FF Reputation: 12 firebirdude Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spots View Post
unless you re running a sub. you dont need an amp. all radios have one built in to run the speakers. and if you are running a sub from that amp then it should be in the trunk with the sub.

plus im not shure the glove box will provide the cooling it needs. especially when the heat is on.
lol welcome to the audio world rook.
Metalcrack and ravenshonor like this.
firebirdude is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2019, 09:00 AM   #8
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Fan#: 405713
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2018 White Focus ST

Posts: 13
Points 58, Level 1
Points: 58, Level: 1 Points: 58, Level: 1 Points: 58, Level: 1
Level Up 16% Completed
Level up: 16% Level up: 16% Level up: 16%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 fifthgear Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spots View Post
unless you re running a sub. you dont need an amp. all radios have one built in to run the speakers. and if you are running a sub from that amp then it should be in the trunk with the sub.

plus im not shure the glove box will provide the cooling it needs. especially when the heat is on.
I think it is a personal choice in how much more music power you want from your speakers over a stock head unit. In my case the stock head unit puts out about 18 RMS watts per channel. The amp was bench tested at 83 RMS watts per channel. That's a lot of extra thump for my listening style and with my choices of music it's enough that I really don't need a sub woofer.


As far as the heat issue I am not concerned. These little RF amps were made to be installed inside a batwing fairing on motorcycles which I have installed in several different bikes over the years. I have also installed behind panels in several vehicles without problems. So far so good. I do love these amps!
fifthgear is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2019, 10:29 AM   #9
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105046
Location: ., CA
What I Drive: .

Posts: 533
Points 2,640, Level 31
Points: 2,640, Level: 31 Points: 2,640, Level: 31 Points: 2,640, Level: 31
Level Up 27% Completed
Level up: 27% Level up: 27% Level up: 27%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 2 ProjectCommuter Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Someone should do an install guide on this. Just sayin'....
ProjectCommuter is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2019, 09:07 AM   #10
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Fan#: 373657
Location: Carrier Mills, United States
What I Drive: 2015 Ingot Silver Focus Hatchback

Posts: 4
Points 6, Level 1
Points: 6, Level: 1 Points: 6, Level: 1 Points: 6, Level: 1
Level Up 11% Completed
Level up: 11% Level up: 11% Level up: 11%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 1 Baku05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What double din is that? Never seen one like it before.
Baku05 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Focus Centennial Edition Sedan
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1