Where can I buy a ITB? - Page 4 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > ZETEC Performance (2000-2004)

ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) The place to chat about any 2.0L Zetec engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2013, 09:04 AM   #31
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,806
Points 53,000, Level 100
Points: 53,000, Level: 100 Points: 53,000, Level: 100 Points: 53,000, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 42%
Activity: 42% Activity: 42% Activity: 42%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Thats because tweecer sucks worse then ms

Your stock Ford escort/focus ECU didnt support TQ Limitation ? odd what was the ECU code
The last ms I used would only do EVAP open or closed it wouldnt regulate it has that changed with the one you have , what version are you running ?

Altho the last ms I used would regulate fuel psi but limited it wouldnt automatically raise the injector duty cycle as the fuel psi fell off to help keep the engine safe , stock Ford Focus ECU will maybe this also has changed , what version software are you running ?

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-04-2013, 11:33 AM   #32
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 117092
Location: Georgetown, CO
What I Drive: 2000 ZX2 Turbo

Posts: 111
Points 399, Level 7
Points: 399, Level: 7 Points: 399, Level: 7 Points: 399, Level: 7
Level Up 98% Completed
Level up: 98% Level up: 98% Level up: 98%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 1 Hardline Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I am running alpha firmware as I help out the development team with testing new features.

As far as EVAP goes, I run mine off a generic PWM table referenced to temp, rpm, load, and tank pressure. Engine has to be over 155F, RPM greater than 1000, load between 40 and 75%, and fuel tank vacuum cannot exceed 1.2 PSI. It also will not attempt to run if it sees the baro has risen over 10000 feet, a daily occurrence for me...

Fuel Pressure, I was the person who got MS to interface with the FPDM the same way the Ford ECU does. Duty Cycle of 5-50% running, 75% for Pump Off.
I believe the portion of the code for fuel pressure adaptive PW is still in development. However there is an option to kill the engine if the pressure drops too low.

Running MS3Pre1.3Alpha5 code

My Factory ECU CatchCode was MTA4
Hardline is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2013, 02:36 PM   #33
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,806
Points 53,000, Level 100
Points: 53,000, Level: 100 Points: 53,000, Level: 100 Points: 53,000, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 42%
Activity: 42% Activity: 42% Activity: 42%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
MTA4 is a good SCT and diablosport code , I have done a few dozen of them , things work good in that code

Stock ECU for me all the way , you should try it , I think you would change your opinion on a standalone

Tom

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2013, 06:50 PM   #34
Focus Enthusiast
 
beatmaniac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90996
Location: mtl, Canada
What I Drive: 2003 red svtf

Posts: 112
Points 416, Level 8
Points: 416, Level: 8 Points: 416, Level: 8 Points: 416, Level: 8
Level Up 32% Completed
Level up: 32% Level up: 32% Level up: 32%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 beatmaniac1 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
Sure could , SCT also offers the software where you could do your own tuning

Tom
Just to make sure I'm not gettin it wrong : that mean you could tune a stock ecu with SCT to run ITB's and MAP ?
beatmaniac1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2013, 10:01 AM   #35
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,806
Points 53,000, Level 100
Points: 53,000, Level: 100 Points: 53,000, Level: 100 Points: 53,000, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 42%
Activity: 42% Activity: 42% Activity: 42%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
The US software, ECU does have a section for speed density but not everything is there for it to work properly , the EURO ECU are properly set up for MAP and that ECU in your car with ITB shouldnt be an issue to tune

You would have to check the pin out to make sure all other wiring is the same and wire in a MAP sensor

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2013, 01:18 PM   #36
Focus Enthusiast
 
beatmaniac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90996
Location: mtl, Canada
What I Drive: 2003 red svtf

Posts: 112
Points 416, Level 8
Points: 416, Level: 8 Points: 416, Level: 8 Points: 416, Level: 8
Level Up 32% Completed
Level up: 32% Level up: 32% Level up: 32%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 beatmaniac1 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Hell yeah !! You just made my day It should be easier tahn wiring a complete stand-alone ecu, easier to tune and it retain the stock obd2 port and codes to pass inspections should Quebec impose a new law ( currentkly we have no emission test )
beatmaniac1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2013, 03:53 PM   #37
Focus Enthusiast
 
GhostTribute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 107929
Location: 506 East Coast, Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Mazda Tribute (2.0L Zetec)

Posts: 442
Points 404, Level 8
Points: 404, Level: 8 Points: 404, Level: 8 Points: 404, Level: 8
Level Up 8% Completed
Level up: 8% Level up: 8% Level up: 8%
Forum Activity 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
FF Reputation: 2 GhostTribute Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Don't forget that after 20-30% throttle on an ITB'd engine a MAP sensor is pretty much completely useless. So your ECU also has to be able to cross over from a speed density to a TPS & RPM based tuning algorithm. AKA Alpha-N

Most stand alone engine management systems have the appropriate algorithms to switch over very easily. The price difference for a stand alone like Motech, Haltec AEM or MegaSquirt is comparable. You will have to take your car to a tuner. IMO that is really the only way to get everything out of your engine any way.
GhostTribute is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2013, 04:23 PM   #38
Focus Enthusiast
 
beatmaniac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90996
Location: mtl, Canada
What I Drive: 2003 red svtf

Posts: 112
Points 416, Level 8
Points: 416, Level: 8 Points: 416, Level: 8 Points: 416, Level: 8
Level Up 32% Completed
Level up: 32% Level up: 32% Level up: 32%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 beatmaniac1 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
ahhh It was too good to be true ! Do you know why the MAP is useless ? not enough vacuum ?

Also , I had never tuned a car by myself , but I've learn to program on a couple of different engineering programs (matlab, labview/simulink,cxprogrammer... ) which are based on matrices and logical/switches operations. Is what is the difference between the way ECU are programmed and the kind of programs I'm working with at school ?
beatmaniac1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2013, 04:37 PM   #39
Focus Enthusiast
 
GhostTribute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 107929
Location: 506 East Coast, Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Mazda Tribute (2.0L Zetec)

Posts: 442
Points 404, Level 8
Points: 404, Level: 8 Points: 404, Level: 8 Points: 404, Level: 8
Level Up 8% Completed
Level up: 8% Level up: 8% Level up: 8%
Forum Activity 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
FF Reputation: 2 GhostTribute Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes, it's due to the lack or instability of the vacuum signal. However, the use of a vacuum box can help to stabilize the vacuum signal somewhat. Even that has it's draw backs. As soon as those throttles open up there is a lot of room that requires attention that can only be calculated with TPS RPM and VSS vehicle speed.
GhostTribute is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2013, 05:53 PM   #40
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,806
Points 53,000, Level 100
Points: 53,000, Level: 100 Points: 53,000, Level: 100 Points: 53,000, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 42%
Activity: 42% Activity: 42% Activity: 42%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
The stock EURO MAP based ECU will be more then enough to handle the ITB

You dont have to take your car to a dyno to get a proper tune or to get everything out of your engine , I never saw the EURO MAP based Foci in the UK and they were highly modded after tuning they went to the dyno where the first tuner tried to tune them and he was impressed by how much better it ran and how much more power it made and said after checking timing and fuel he wouldnt touch a thing , just because you go to a dyno for a tune doesnt mean your going to get a proper tune and all your engine can do safely

You need a good tuner that knows what he is doing , then go to a dyno after your tune is done to confirm

I have done a good bit of ITB tuning and building in the Caterhams / Birkins and dont feel that that big of a deal to tune at all

What ever works best for you is what people need to do , I have tunes with about 20 diff software over the years and if there is proper tuning for the stock ECU thats the way to go


Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1