SVT needs TLC from newbie(me) - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace

Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus SVT > SVT Performance (2002-2004)

SVT Performance (2002-2004) The place to chat about any 2.0L SVT DOHC Zetec engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2009, 04:10 PM   #1
Focus Rookie

Fan#: 63873
What I Drive: 2004 Sonic Blue SVT

FF Reputation: 1 Ian97 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
SVT needs TLC from newbie(me)

I'm hoping I have the correct forum. I'm an oldbie in terms of owning my 04 SVT since I got it back in 04. However, I'm a newbie here. I'm also a new home owner and with that home came a garage and a driveway, so I'd like to do some general maintenance to the car myself. Some things I can do at home, and some things I'll have to take to the dealer. The car has about 52,000k on it. Here are some things rolling around in my head, any thoughts would be appreciated:

- Replace fuel and air filters. I'm assuming I don't need to use motorcraft parts for this since they're pretty generic. Is there any difference between just a paper filter and the drop in K&N other than the latter being reusable? Can I just walk into pep boys to get the fuel filter and not be doing something stupid?

- The car seems to have strange electrical issue where the dashboard lights and stereo will intermittently flicker. They don't completely blink, but there is a weak flicker. Is this a common issue?

- I'm looking to replace the tires. I need a set that will be good for all seasons with a possibility of very light snow duty in a pinch. I'm looking at the Kumho Ecsta ASX. The reviews seem to average pretty good and the price is right too.