Instrument cluster - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > SPI Performance (2000-2004)

SPI Performance (2000-2004) The place to chat about any 2.0L Split Port Injection engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2005, 08:46 AM   #1
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15938
Location: 6242 Hidden Woods Court
What I Drive: 2000 Midnight Blue SE Sedan 5spd manual 2.0L SPI

Posts: 6
FF Reputation: 1 FocusPride05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Instrument cluster

Hey i was just wondering, is there any way possible to incorporate an instrument cluster with a tachometer into my 2000 Ford Focus SE sedan with SPI say from a ZX3, or another model? PLease give me some feedback


FocusPride05 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2005, 09:00 AM   #2
S2
Retired Fanatic
 
S2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 4939
Location: Canada, Canada
What I Drive: Camaro 2SS/RS

Posts: 19,999
FF Reputation: 67 S2 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (20)
Yes you can do this. The only 'catch' is that you will want to buy one that has the relatively the same ODOMETER reading (mileage) cause that isn't changeable. Basically if your car has 23, 245mi on it and you do purchase a gauge cluster that has say 28,487mi on it, when you install it, the mileage will now read 28,487 and not your current actual mileage. You can get this reprogrammed by the FORD techs (dealership) but not sure what that costs.

It is possible, many have done this, run a SEARCH on the boards here and you'll find out some other information you need about this.
__________________
Chad (S2)
S2 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2005, 10:26 AM   #3
FF Cleaning Squad
 
focusin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 4322
Location: Bay Minette,, AL
What I Drive: All Focus' sold

Posts: 11,959
FF Reputation: 63 focusin Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
I did theswap it just plugs right in but dont count on a dealership reprograming guages for you its a little illegal.

Welcome to FF
__________________
Retired Moderator
GumpCrew #1 (dismantled)
focusin is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2005, 10:41 AM   #4
S2
Retired Fanatic
 
S2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 4939
Location: Canada, Canada
What I Drive: Camaro 2SS/RS

Posts: 19,999
FF Reputation: 67 S2 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (20)
If you tell them directly what your doing and they see your old one installed in the car, they will do this. It's not illegal at all, how do you think they do this when you go in directly and buy a new set of gauges directly from the dealership?
__________________
Chad (S2)
S2 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2005, 10:59 AM   #5
FF Cleaning Squad
 
focusin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 4322
Location: Bay Minette,, AL
What I Drive: All Focus' sold

Posts: 11,959
FF Reputation: 63 focusin Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
I was told by the DMV that any tampering of the odometer is illegal and the factory said they would not do it when I asked, so maybe I will try another factory. I have about 75xxx miles on my car but my new guages only say 13xxx. Is it possible to find the milage on the car with out the original guages?
__________________
Retired Moderator
GumpCrew #1 (dismantled)
focusin is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2005, 02:15 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Fan#: 2258
Location: Columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2k SPI-T, with Lentech automatic stuff on it

Posts: 1,326
FF Reputation: 1 waterboy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Thanks for answering the question, S2. See why we need a moderator for this forum?


BTW: You can have your damn cold air back now. I'm quite tired of it.
waterboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2005, 02:26 PM   #7
S2
Retired Fanatic
 
S2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 4939
Location: Canada, Canada
What I Drive: Camaro 2SS/RS

Posts: 19,999
FF Reputation: 67 S2 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (20)
LOL (found the first example)....lol

Anyway, yeah it's damn cold here right now also. Sucks man, I've had enough of this winter. As for a SPI moderator, I agree we need one.
__________________
Chad (S2)
S2 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2005, 03:23 PM   #8
FF Cleaning Squad
 
focusin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 4322
Location: Bay Minette,, AL
What I Drive: All Focus' sold

Posts: 11,959
FF Reputation: 63 focusin Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
Well is there a way to read the milage without the stock guages?
__________________
Retired Moderator
GumpCrew #1 (dismantled)
focusin is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2005, 08:59 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Fan#: 2258
Location: Columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2k SPI-T, with Lentech automatic stuff on it

Posts: 1,326
FF Reputation: 1 waterboy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
It's my understanding, right or wrong, that the ECU also tracks mileage. You'd have to get it checked at the dealer, though.
waterboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2005, 09:38 PM   #10
FF Bouncer
 
W~Phoenix~{RC}'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Fan#: 11450
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
What I Drive: 2003 Silver Frost Sport Edition ATX

Posts: 3,178
FF Reputation: 1 W~Phoenix~{RC} Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (29)
Hrm... It seems strange that it would be illegal to make the odometer correspond to the actual miles on the car when swapping. I went into my dealership a couple of months ago to ask that very question. They said that they would be able to do it, and that it's illegal to not correct the mileage when swapping gauge clusters.

Cheers!
W~Phoenix~{RC} is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1