I need a performance chip - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > SPI Performance (2000-2004)

SPI Performance (2000-2004) The place to chat about any 2.0L Split Port Injection engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply




 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2004, 03:45 PM   #1
Focus Enthusiast
 
Cmmcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15719
Location: North NJ
What I Drive: Mineral Grey Ford Focus SE

Posts: 137
FF Reputation: 1 Cmmcc Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I need a performance chip

I know there are a few good names but what works best with an SPI?


__________________
SCT Chip : Screamin Deamon Coil w/ 10mm Livewires : Full SVT Suspension : 60mm Throttle Body: EVO 5 Body Kit : Mach Audio HID's : TYC Tail Lights : Custom Carbon Fiber Hood : Redline Tuning Elit Hood Lifts : Volant Intake : Magnaflow Catback : Diamond Plate Interior Floor : Reverse Glow Guages: Aluminum Billet HVAC w/ SVT Pod : Custom E Brake : 18" Riax Rims : Clear Side Markers : Blue LED M3 Side Mirrors : Swab Mod : Front Drilled & Slotted Roters
Cmmcc is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2004, 04:13 PM   #2
S2
Retired Fanatic
 
S2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 4939
Location: Canada, Canada
What I Drive: Camaro 2SS/RS

Posts: 19,999
FF Reputation: 67 S2 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (20)
Why do you need a chip? ATX?
__________________
Chad (S2)
S2 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2004, 09:44 PM   #3
Focus Enthusiast
 
Cmmcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15719
Location: North NJ
What I Drive: Mineral Grey Ford Focus SE

Posts: 137
FF Reputation: 1 Cmmcc Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Looking to increase HP torque ... a chip like the diablo, but i heard they suck
__________________
SCT Chip : Screamin Deamon Coil w/ 10mm Livewires : Full SVT Suspension : 60mm Throttle Body: EVO 5 Body Kit : Mach Audio HID's : TYC Tail Lights : Custom Carbon Fiber Hood : Redline Tuning Elit Hood Lifts : Volant Intake : Magnaflow Catback : Diamond Plate Interior Floor : Reverse Glow Guages: Aluminum Billet HVAC w/ SVT Pod : Custom E Brake : 18" Riax Rims : Clear Side Markers : Blue LED M3 Side Mirrors : Swab Mod : Front Drilled & Slotted Roters
Cmmcc is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2004, 10:06 PM   #4
S2
Retired Fanatic
 
S2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 4939
Location: Canada, Canada
What I Drive: Camaro 2SS/RS

Posts: 19,999
FF Reputation: 67 S2 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (20)
Chips are pretty much pointless until you are running alot more bolt on mods. Honestly IMO a chip should be one of the last mods you do unless your running a ATX cause you can change shift points as well.
__________________
Chad (S2)
S2 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-23-2004, 03:30 AM   #5
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Fan#: 4258
Location: San Diego
What I Drive: 05 Mazda 3i

Posts: 293
FF Reputation: 1 KoRnGtL15 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I agree. Unless you have the atx. Get it for the shift points. It rocks.

Quote:
Originally posted by S2
Chips are pretty much pointless until you are running alot more bolt on mods. Honestly IMO a chip should be one of the last mods you do unless your running a ATX cause you can change shift points as well.
KoRnGtL15 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2004, 12:43 AM   #6
Capt. Urn
 
crazy_urn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Fan#: 1986
Location: Uncharted Waters, CO
What I Drive: 77 F-250, 10 HHR, 08 Outlook

Posts: 5,491
FF Reputation: 5 crazy_urn Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
dont listen to S2, he dont know crap.....

lol. just kidding man.

if you want a chip, check out the superchip. you can get it through Focus Sport. yeah, the diablo does suck, from what i have heard, the superchip blows it out of the water. the chip will definatly make a much bigger differance on an ATX, but on the SPI, there is still quite a bit of good to be done on an MTX. I know it removes the governor, so no more 108 top speed. i also know it is possible to reprogram the shift light to come on when you want it to. it also does help a little with HP and Tourque (though dont expect a miracle) you will want to talk to the SPIers actually running the chip. i havent heard anything about it since it first came out. i have been in a black hole of sorts.
__________________
Defending the reputation of the red-headed step-child of the focus world for far too long.
crazy_urn is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2004, 01:10 AM   #7
S2
Retired Fanatic
 
S2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 4939
Location: Canada, Canada
What I Drive: Camaro 2SS/RS

Posts: 19,999
FF Reputation: 67 S2 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (20)
Hey Urn, where ya been? Haven't seen you on here in forever!

hahah, Merry Christmas to you too.....
__________________
Chad (S2)
S2 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2005, 06:12 PM   #8
Capt. Urn
 
crazy_urn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Fan#: 1986
Location: Uncharted Waters, CO
What I Drive: 77 F-250, 10 HHR, 08 Outlook

Posts: 5,491
FF Reputation: 5 crazy_urn Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
been in USAF basic... now at tech school with very little computer access. o-well.
__________________
Defending the reputation of the red-headed step-child of the focus world for far too long.
crazy_urn is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2005, 12:02 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Fan#: 2258
Location: Columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2k SPI-T, with Lentech automatic stuff on it

Posts: 1,326
FF Reputation: 1 waterboy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
First off, find your code. It's on one of three places:
1) The ECU itself. This is a test. If you don't know where the ECU is then you don't need to be messing with a chip
2) Passenger doorframe by the hinges
3) Hood support if your car has been reflashed or updated to a new code. It won't be there if the service tech. didn't follow through -OR- your car has its original code.

Your code will be made up of four letters and numbers in this succession: letter, #,#, letter. For instance, my code is FVV8.

Now if you have an FVV series code, you need to PM me and I'll do you a favor. I have a Diablo chip that has a few tweaks in it you can have. Yes, the Diablo sucks compared to the SCT (Oh yes, the SCT Raptor package with datalogger is available for the SPI now. I just have to get it and test it out first), but the price is good. By price I mean nada, gilch, freebie. It is based off the LFQ series ZETEC program and it runs out nicely.

Jim
waterboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2005, 12:06 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Fan#: 2258
Location: Columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2k SPI-T, with Lentech automatic stuff on it

Posts: 1,326
FF Reputation: 1 waterboy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
I missed you URN. You're my favorite wingnut!! Before you flame away, wingnut, I am a child of a wingnut myself and was on many a SAC* base back in the day. My Dad shit when I joined the Army. Then he shit bricks when I went Airborne. He asked me what I jumped out of, and i said C-130's. He just rolled his eyes. He was a prop. mechanic on C-130's. ETS'd as a Tech. Sergeant, I believe.

Sorry to hijack...Back to your regular programming........






SAC= Strategic Air Command., meaning nukes and B-52's
waterboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1