speedo swap - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > SPI Performance (2000-2004)

SPI Performance (2000-2004) The place to chat about any 2.0L Split Port Injection engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2012, 11:35 PM   #1
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Fan#: 100235
Location: Hickory, NC
What I Drive: 2000 blue ford focus lx sohc

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 locknut550 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
speedo swap

I have a 2000 Ford Focus lx with the basic speedo cluster with no tach.I was wondering if it was possible to swap it with a cluster that has the tach. I bought this car not long ago I love it but I miss not having a tach.Also will a lens cover on a speedo cluster with no tach fit a cluster with a tach. There is a instrument cluster with a tach on Ebay for cheap but it has a crack in the lens cover.



Last edited by locknut550; 11-03-2012 at 11:06 AM.
locknut550 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-05-2012, 11:22 PM   #2
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2012
Fan#: 99464
Location: Philadelphia, PA
What I Drive: 2003-CD Silver-SPI-5spd

Posts: 71
Points 213, Level 4
Points: 213, Level: 4 Points: 213, Level: 4 Points: 213, Level: 4
Level Up 26% Completed
Level up: 26% Level up: 26% Level up: 26%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 jlawlax1344 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
The speedo swap is a simple plug and play, i did it in about 10 mins myself, same problem. The lens has to be one with a tach as part of the bezel is built into the lens. The mileage will take whatever the new cluster has unless you pay close to 100 to have it saved off the old and onto the new one. IF you need help with it message me on here and i can walk you through it, and i can help you reset the guages (ive only had to reset mine like 8 times!!!)
__________________
2 12" rockford fosgate subs,1500w Hifonics amp, throttle spacer,Escort Header and cat delete with FSWerks 2.5" race exhaust,custom CAI w/Spectre 10.5x6 filter,smoked tails,Euro turn signals, 30,000K HID headlights, Toms Tune
jlawlax1344 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2012, 04:07 PM   #3
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94124
Location: Ottawa, Canada
What I Drive: 02 SE SOHC SPI

Posts: 483
FF Reputation: 8 Tymes Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
How cheap is cheap, there are lots of them in scrap yards. I'd check your local yards before buying on Ebay just because shipping is a killer on something that shape and size. The yards here generally charge about $25 for a cluster out of an older focus. I'd offer to get you one, but ours are in KM/Hr, the MPH is very hard to read.

There are also 3 different clusters you can get
one with normal black face,

the SVT which is white faced

or there is another greyish faced one I have seen, it looks like it might be translucent.


Here's link to a how to on changing the gauge faces, but you can use it to figure out removing and install the full cluster (just don't use the part where you open the cluster)

Edit: might be handy if I actually include the link, LOL

LINK here
__________________
Somewhere there's a DC10 struggling to get off the ground. I'm not a fan of wings on street cars, I like low key spoilers, but not something that you have to custom order from Boeing.
Tymes is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2012, 04:01 PM   #4
Capt. Urn
 
crazy_urn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Fan#: 1986
Location: Uncharted Waters, CO
What I Drive: 77 F-250, 10 HHR, 08 Outlook

Posts: 5,491
FF Reputation: 5 crazy_urn Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlawlax1344 View Post
The speedo swap is a simple plug and play, i did it in about 10 mins myself, same problem. The lens has to be one with a tach as part of the bezel is built into the lens. The mileage will take whatever the new cluster has unless you pay close to 100 to have it saved off the old and onto the new one. IF you need help with it message me on here and i can walk you through it, and i can help you reset the guages (ive only had to reset mine like 8 times!!!)
Before you plan on getting the milage off your old cluster, contact your Ford dealer. When I did this, none of the stealers would re-flash my milage unless I purchased the cluster through them. So I bought a junker a little over my milage, waited impatiently until they were pretty close, then swapped them out. The swap was just as easy as described.

Of course, this was years ago, so it may be different now.
__________________
Defending the reputation of the red-headed step-child of the focus world for far too long.
crazy_urn is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2012, 05:13 PM   #5
Focus Enthusiast
 
swagfocuswagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103591
Location: Dayton, OH
What I Drive: '00 Focus wagon, 96 Cutlass Supreme

Posts: 117
FF Reputation: 1 swagfocuswagon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Heck I wanna do this to my wagon. I hate not having a tach. My olds has a tach lol.
swagfocuswagon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2012, 05:21 PM   #6
Capt. Urn
 
crazy_urn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Fan#: 1986
Location: Uncharted Waters, CO
What I Drive: 77 F-250, 10 HHR, 08 Outlook

Posts: 5,491
FF Reputation: 5 crazy_urn Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
do it! it's cheap and easy.
__________________
Defending the reputation of the red-headed step-child of the focus world for far too long.
crazy_urn is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
What I Drive
Year, color, and model of your car. Example: 2003 Pitch Black ZX3
Name
Your real name.
City
State
Country
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Copyright 2002-2015 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Mazda CX-3, Audi S3, Mazda MX-5 Miata and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus, Focus ST and Focus RS related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. If you own other makes have a look at Challenger Hellcat Forum, Charger Hellcat Forum, Cadillac ATS-V Forum, Cadillac ATS Forum, Cadillac CTS-V Forum, Lexus RC-F Forum, Lexus GS-F Forum, Mercedes GLA Forum, Mercedes GLE Forum, Civic Type-R Forum and Volvo XC90 Forum.





Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1