MY speedo is off - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2006, 10:01 AM   #1
MSC
Focus Enthusiast
 
MSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36334
Location: Robertsdale, AL
What I Drive: 2006 Sonic Blue ZX5

Posts: 263
FF Reputation: 1 MSC Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
MY speedo is off

I was driving and the speedo seemed fast. So I slowed down to the speed limit and people started passing me. In California getting passed when doing the speed limit is normal, but here in Idaho lots of people do the speed limt and slower. So my wife drove the Focus while I paced it with my mustang and the Focus showed 50 when the mustang was doing 45. The mustang is correct within 1 mph according to my many speeding tickets. I took it to the dealer and they said that up to +6 mph reading is within Ford's normal range. I just bought the car new a month ago and it is still stock, so I know it is not my wheel and tire combo. Anyone else have this problem?


MSC is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-22-2006, 12:05 PM   #2
WD40
The Librarian
 
WD40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 5157
Location: Helena, MT
What I Drive: '04 Sonic Blue - SVT 3Door

Posts: 13,116
FF Reputation: 138 WD40 Excellent Standing MemberWD40 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
I took it to the dealer and they said that up to +6 mph reading is within Ford's normal range.
Unfortunately, that's a correct statement.
Most new cars do read faster on the speedo than actual speed, though +6mph is a bit out of the norm.
+2 to +3mph is much more common.
WD40 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 04:06 PM   #3
MSC
Focus Enthusiast
 
MSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36334
Location: Robertsdale, AL
What I Drive: 2006 Sonic Blue ZX5

Posts: 263
FF Reputation: 1 MSC Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks for the info. Yes +2 to +3 would be O.K. My wife drives it the most and she doesn't mind, but it just annoys me when I drive. I guess I will have to learn to live with it.
__________________
Last of the Hatches #11
ATX Faction #47
MSC is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 09:23 PM   #4
arrestmespi
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Fan#: 27586
Location: Aberdeen, MD
What I Drive: '04 Mazdaspeed Mx-5, '72 M35A2

Posts: 4,602
FF Reputation: 27 arrestmespi Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
did you get new tires or something. consider an sct flash tuner that allows you to calibrate the speedo plus other neat stuf.



Plus put that speedo back on man we don't want to see that shit yo
arrestmespi is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2006, 09:58 PM   #5
svt_gEEk
oldFart
 
svt_gEEk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 18578
Location: nowhere, AK
What I Drive: nothing

Posts: 11,161
FF Reputation: 3 svt_gEEk Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Make sure your tires are the right size. I know you said you bought it new...but stranger things have happend.....other than that...a flash tuner would fix it...not sure what else to do.
svt_gEEk is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2006, 02:59 PM   #6
06ZXW
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2006
Fan#: 35087
Location: FL
What I Drive: 2006 Liquid Gray ZXW SE Sport

Posts: 59
FF Reputation: 1 06ZXW Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I have an '06 and with my stock tires (Crappy Goodyears) the Speedo was dead-on (confirmed with radar speed sign and my GPS).

I upsized tires to 195/65/15 Kumho's and even at 70MPH it reads on 2-3 mph slower based on GPS.

I would think with a 6mph diff, something is wrong.
06ZXW is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2006, 01:57 AM   #7
sonicsvtf
Focus Enthusiast
 
sonicsvtf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Fan#: 32148
Location: Spring Valley, CA
What I Drive: 2002 Sonic blue svt focus

Posts: 242
FF Reputation: 1 sonicsvtf Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
i have an 02 svt and i believe my speedo is off as well, kinda the same deal as you have, started driving the speed limit to try to save on gas(which is working, just got 26.5mpg) and noticed that people were either riding my butt or passing me. I do work at a dealership and have re-programmed pcms to accomodate for larger tires on trucks but havent tried it on a focus. Ill check it out next week and get back to you but it should be possible, you may have just had a lazy tech.
sonicsvtf is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 11:19 AM   #8
MSC
Focus Enthusiast
 
MSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36334
Location: Robertsdale, AL
What I Drive: 2006 Sonic Blue ZX5

Posts: 263
FF Reputation: 1 MSC Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I will check and make sure Ford put the right size tire on from the factory. The factory does make mistakes some times. I do have to take the car in for the windshield surround. It is lifting along the top of the windshield. I think I will harass them some more about the speedo.
__________________
Last of the Hatches #11
ATX Faction #47
MSC is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 11:56 AM   #9
scrammer
Banned
 
scrammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 26570
Location: Hagerstown, MD
What I Drive: February 2010 ROTM

Posts: 7,946
FF Reputation: 172 scrammer Excellent Standing Memberscrammer Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (29)
go into DTC mode with your odometer, this is done by holding the reset button, and then starting the car. hold the button until it reads all 0's then release. go down the road and keep pushing the button until a number pops up resembling your speed or something close to it. this will be you actual speed you are going. compare it to your speedo. from here, you have 2 options. deal with it. or you can take out the cluster, remove the clear shield, remove the speedo needle, then go down the road doing the same thing with the odometer. and once you hit the cruise, stick the needle back on the post in the appropriate postition. this will be waaaay cheaper than buying a flash tuner. hope this helps ya out

now someone can correct me if the 05+ does not have the option to do this with the odometer.
scrammer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 11:56 AM   #10
scrammer
Banned
 
scrammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 26570
Location: Hagerstown, MD
What I Drive: February 2010 ROTM

Posts: 7,946
FF Reputation: 172 scrammer Excellent Standing Memberscrammer Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (29)
and btw, mine reads 2-3 mph faster than actual speed.
scrammer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.