Zetec to Duratec Swap - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Engine & Transmission Swap

Engine & Transmission Swap The place to chat about any engine and transmission swap.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2006, 04:38 PM   #1
opus1
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Fan#: 31828
Location: California
What I Drive: 2001 Green ZX3-Porsche 912E

Posts: 479
FF Reputation: 1 opus1 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (7)
Zetec to Duratec Swap

Has anyone done the 2.0 Zetec to 2.3 Duratec swap successfully? I know that ‘Benny’ in “Jet” is in the middle of doing one, but still trying to hook up the harness. Almost sound like it’s easier to buy a used 2.3 Focu especially living in Calif.


opus1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2006, 04:47 PM   #2
teddy2heavy
Focus Enthusiast
 
teddy2heavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 25743
Location: cincinnati OH
What I Drive: 2005, silver, ZX3

Posts: 488
FF Reputation: 1 teddy2heavy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
i have not heard of anyone doing this
__________________
Teddy the Greek

TEAM DURATEC #01
teddy2heavy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 05:00 PM   #3
Achilleus
Focus Enthusiast
 
Achilleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Fan#: 30461
Location: Ontario
What I Drive: 2003 Dark Red ZX5

Posts: 161
FF Reputation: 1 Achilleus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Of course its easier to buy a used 2.3. Don't even bother with the swap, total waste of time.. if anything swap in a V-8. if u want a 2.3, buy one (sure, it might cost more than swapping a 2.3, but at least you know everything works and fits together the way its supposed to).
Achilleus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 12:33 PM   #4
03FOCUZ
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Fan#: 7146
Location: pasadena,cali
What I Drive: 2003,infra red,zx3

Posts: 301
FF Reputation: 1 03FOCUZ Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
but that v8 power sounds so tempting
__________________
{fs wires,aem cold air, spin tech muffler with 2.5 piping,,kyb adjustables,sprint 2 inch lowering springs , steeda short shifter,FS front and rear strut,Xcal 2 clared cat.many more to come.cant wait to boossst.

{ZETEC crew MEMBER 82}
03FOCUZ is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 12:43 PM   #5
SVT_BMXer
Focus Fanatic
 
SVT_BMXer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Fan#: 11226
Location: Columbus, OH
What I Drive: 1991 BMW 318is

Posts: 9,084
FF Reputation: 20 SVT_BMXer Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
Quote:
Originally posted by Achilleus
Of course its easier to buy a used 2.3. Don't even bother with the swap, total waste of time.. if anything swap in a V-8. if u want a 2.3, buy one (sure, it might cost more than swapping a 2.3, but at least you know everything works and fits together the way its supposed to).
its funny how everyone says...."oh just swap in a V8". there is so much work involved let alone the cost of it. I believe i saw somewhere FRPP's RS8 had something like $105,000 in it. I know you can do it for far less than that, but still going to be atleast over $10K for a V8 swap. Where as you could swap focus motors relatively easily. Although i do feel it would be a wasted effort to swap a zetec for a duratec. Just get some bolt ons for a zetec and you will make more power than a duratec.
__________________
02 Jackson Racing supercharged SVT
SOLD

Current:1991 BMW 318is: Bilstein sports, H&R springs, TMS chip, UUC short shifter, dyna-max muffler
SVT_BMXer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 01:25 PM   #6
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,064
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Find a Duratec that has been hit in the side or the rear. You'll need the whole car to make things easier for a swap. I'm not sure on the motor mounts, but I'd assume the mounts are different- and probably don't bolt up to the old Zetec crossmember either. Also, it would be helpful if you could find a D20 or D23 because the D20E and D23E have an exhaust manifold with a monster catalytic converter in it, and AIR. I'm not sure on the Zetec fuel injection system since I don't have one, but the Duratec has a "new" system that doesn't use a return line. The computer regulates the fuel pressure by adjusting voltage to the pump according to readings from a fuel pressure sensor. If the Zetec is different, then you'll need the fuel pump assembly from the Duratec.

Good luck, swaps aren't impossible, and this one doesn't require a welder like the V8 swap.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 04:01 PM   #7
CrikitZX3
Focus Enthusiast
 
CrikitZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Fan#: 39913
Location: Snohomish, WA
What I Drive: 03' EAP SVT/Roush

Posts: 76
FF Reputation: 1 CrikitZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
my 2000 ZX3 engine is getting older and I was wondering about a ST duratec D23 swap as well. They use the same tranny right? is there any other differences we know besides fueling as mentioned by whynothinkwhynot?

I want a simple swap like this, so i can keep my current transmission and overall weight balance of the car. Going from 135hp/127tq to 151hp/154tq without tons of extra noise and loss of fuel economy sounds like a big improvement to me.
CrikitZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 05:57 PM   #8
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,064
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Moved to Engine and Transmission swap.

It should've been moved a long time ago, but that was so long ago that we didn't have this forum. This is the correct forum for this discussion.

I wrote that in 06 when I didn't know much about the engines. Both the Zetec and Duratec use a returnless fuel system. The transmission is not the same and will not bolt up. You will need to find a complete wrecked vehicle to do a swap, and there will be a lot involved because you'll have to remove the wiring harness and change out the ECU as well as reprogram the other computers to work with the new ECU.

It can be done, but it would be easier to sell your car and purchase an ST or PZEV with a D23.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 07:07 PM   #9
CrikitZX3
Focus Enthusiast
 
CrikitZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Fan#: 39913
Location: Snohomish, WA
What I Drive: 03' EAP SVT/Roush

Posts: 76
FF Reputation: 1 CrikitZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
too bad they only use the D23 in the sedan ST. i wanted to see how it would do in a smaller car.

You mentioned the MTX-75 tranny's are different between the zetec and duratec's. I'll need to read more into this, because i have a spare MTX tranny, but don't know if it will fit my 00' ZX3
CrikitZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 07:11 PM   #10
06Roush
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 45862
Location: indianapolis, IN
What I Drive: Frankenstien

Posts: 1,500
FF Reputation: 60 06Roush Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
getting the dura into the car will be your easy part as it will bolt right up by swapping the passangers side mount to a duratec mount. the hard part will be wiring seeing as how u will need a full duratec wiring harness. and i mean full. every wire from front to back will need to be replaced. i started this swap, had all the wiring and ecu and every thing then could not find a d23 so i gave up on it and just went with a d25 instead. witch since ur already doing it any ways u might as well just go with the d25 v6.
06Roush is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.