Gauge Cluster Help - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2014, 03:05 AM   #1
oJVIurder
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Fan#: 120432
Location: Bronx, NY
What I Drive: 2000 Toreador Red ZX4 SE

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 oJVIurder Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Unhappy Gauge Cluster Help

Hello, I am fairly new to the forums and I am happy to see a site dedicated to the Focus. With that said I'm hoping you guys can help me.

The car in question is a 2000 Ford Focus SE Zetec. A friend of mine purchased a custom gauge for me from black cat customs. I am not to familiar with cars so he tried to help me have the gauge face installed. The removal of the cluster went fine but its the point where we had to remove the old gauge face where I believe the problems started. It wasn't a clean removal as glue residue and parts of the green film that was on the original gauge face remained. When we placed the new cluster on top and tried to see if it worked but u could clearly see the spots that were left were blocking the light from passing on to the new gauge.

Regrettably, we used cotton swabs and rubbing alcohol to clean off the glue and the green film leaving the clear cluster pretty clean. After reapplying the gauge face and reattaching it we noticed that the light was still very dim and the needles were completely off. I mean like spin in an unorthodox way.

I have a feeling we may have ruined the gauge entirely as now it doesn't light up at all and the needles are still off and don't seem responsive almost like its broken or gets stuck. I know this is a lot and the level of fail may be high. But any help or advice will be much appreciated.

I considered buying a new gauge cluster but the fact that my miles (112000) will not appear on the "new" cluster bothers me and I don't think I can really afford to go to a ford dealer and spend $300 for something like reprogramming it.


Help!!?!


oJVIurder is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-07-2014, 07:41 AM   #2
TerryB
Focus Fanatic
 
TerryB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Fan#: 34559
Location: Riverside, RI
What I Drive: Red '01 ZX3

Posts: 2,917
FF Reputation: 68 TerryB Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Go through the how-to thread and look for the interior section. It should answer your questions.
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/s...ad.php?t=65218
TerryB is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.