How To: Adding an OEM Tachometer Cluster on a 2005-up - Page 7 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2007, 12:14 PM   #61
Berol
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49676
Location: Iowa
What I Drive: 2007 Cloud 9 ZX3

Posts: 83
FF Reputation: 1 Berol Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Anything besides the instrument cluster needed?

Is anything besides the actual instrument cluster needed to do this swap?

Any dash panels/bezels that need to be replaced?
Berol is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2007, 02:58 PM   #62
zx505focus
AKA KILLA XB
 
zx505focus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 44497
Location: Owasso, OK
What I Drive: 2010 Scion XB RS7

Posts: 2,238
FF Reputation: 44 zx505focus Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
whats different between a non-tach style and tach style
__________________
Murasaki Warrior
zx505focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 03:54 PM   #63
Berol
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49676
Location: Iowa
What I Drive: 2007 Cloud 9 ZX3

Posts: 83
FF Reputation: 1 Berol Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zx505focus View Post
whats different between a non-tach style and tach style

The real difference is that the non-tach styles just have the speedometer, fuel gauge and temp gauge (and a bunch of lights).

Tach styles also include the tachometer on the dash to monitor engine rpm.


But I'm not sure if the bezels on the dash are different or not.
Berol is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 04:26 PM   #64
zx505focus
AKA KILLA XB
 
zx505focus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 44497
Location: Owasso, OK
What I Drive: 2010 Scion XB RS7

Posts: 2,238
FF Reputation: 44 zx505focus Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berol View Post
The real difference is that the non-tach styles just have the speedometer, fuel gauge and temp gauge (and a bunch of lights).

Tach styles also include the tachometer on the dash to monitor engine rpm.


But I'm not sure if the bezels on the dash are different or not.
this is my speedometer
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	speed.jpg
Views:	344
Size:	28.8 KB
ID:	12820  

__________________
Murasaki Warrior
zx505focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 05:08 PM   #65
Berol
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49676
Location: Iowa
What I Drive: 2007 Cloud 9 ZX3

Posts: 83
FF Reputation: 1 Berol Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zx505focus View Post
this is my speedometer
Yeah, you have the tach style. That gauge is optional, at least on SE models, and alot of us don't have it.


I'll also ask my question again to the people who have done the swap- Did you replace any dash bezels? The Ford parts catalog seems to list different bezels corresponding to different instrument clusters.
Berol is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 05:11 PM   #66
zx505focus
AKA KILLA XB
 
zx505focus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 44497
Location: Owasso, OK
What I Drive: 2010 Scion XB RS7

Posts: 2,238
FF Reputation: 44 zx505focus Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berol View Post
Yeah, you have the tach style. That gauge is optional, at least on SE models, and alot of us don't have it.


I'll also ask my question again to the people who have done the swap- Did you replace any dash bezels? The Ford parts catalog seems to list different bezels corresponding to different instrument clusters.
its all stock and i have a ses
__________________
Murasaki Warrior
zx505focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 05:42 PM   #67
Berol
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49676
Location: Iowa
What I Drive: 2007 Cloud 9 ZX3

Posts: 83
FF Reputation: 1 Berol Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zx505focus View Post
its all stock and i have a ses
Yeah, it's standard equipment on SES.



I'll also ask my question again to the people who have done the swap- Did you replace any dash bezels? The Ford parts catalog seems to list different bezels corresponding to different instrument clusters.
Berol is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 06:58 PM   #68
honhon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24778
Location: ., United States
What I Drive: a better car than a focus.

Posts: 8,497
FF Reputation: 219 honhon Excellent Standing Memberhonhon Excellent Standing Memberhonhon Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
i had an S model 2005 focus and i installed a gauge cluster from an ST and the cluster was the only thing i had to swap.
__________________
http://www.full-race.com/r14-fire-video.html
honhon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 10:04 PM   #69
Berol
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Fan#: 49676
Location: Iowa
What I Drive: 2007 Cloud 9 ZX3

Posts: 83
FF Reputation: 1 Berol Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by honhon View Post
i had an S model 2005 focus and i installed a gauge cluster from an ST and the cluster was the only thing i had to swap.
Awesome.

Good to hear.

Thanks for the help
Berol is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 03:12 PM   #70
Scramble
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Fan#: 50997
Location: Arkansas
What I Drive: 2007 White ZX3

Posts: 10
FF Reputation: 1 Scramble Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ok, so I called several Ford dealerships, till I finally found someone who knows remotely what they're talking about. He quoted me at $312 for the cluster, plus a $300 core charge, (which i'll get back) and $180 for the install. Now, to cover their butts, they can't guarantee that the tach will work, but they will correct the mileage. One thing i'm worried about is the ABS light issue. I have the base model 07 Focus ZX3. Will my lights be always on? or do you think they can fix that?
Scramble is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.