How To: Adding an OEM Tachometer Cluster on a 2005-up - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2005, 05:41 PM   #11
blkZX32005
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 26857
Location: Phoenix, Az, United States
What I Drive: 2014 Focus Hatch

Posts: 1,803
FF Reputation: 3 blkZX32005 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
are you going to be selling this conversion kit Rob?
__________________
FS CAI, Custom Eyelids, Silver star head lights and turns, FC Strut Bar, OBX stainless exhaust, blue interior LED's LED tail light bulbs, gold 17" Kyowa race wheels with nitto neogen tires......more to come....
blkZX32005 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-02-2005, 06:18 PM   #12
five-speed2.3
Focus Enthusiast
 
five-speed2.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 25318
Location: Exton PA
What I Drive: 2004 Silver ZTS 2.3

Posts: 230
FF Reputation: 1 five-speed2.3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally posted by stpower
I can't beleive your zts is tachless. I'm sure it will work you just need a cluster from your year
i know, its kinda weird like that, check out my gallery, its true.
__________________
2004 ZTS 2.3----Silver
Team Duratec #56
next to come exhaust.....
first 1/4 mile = 15.94, totally stock then
youtube.com/watch?v=TJlOJCqV8uU
five-speed2.3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 12:55 AM   #13
zxtunerdotcom
Focus Enthusiast
 
zxtunerdotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 19637
Location: murrieta, ca
What I Drive: 2005 Cloud 9 White ZX3 S

Posts: 333
FF Reputation: 1 zxtunerdotcom Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
the odometer readings on the speedo follow the cluster and cannot be altered from whatever they were from the donated car. if the mileage reading must be true to the speedo presently in the car, you're pretty much out of luck.

what i plan on doing when selling time rolls around is to sign a DMV statement of fact sheet claiming the speedometer has been replaced and the real mileage is ....

Or, if the mileage of the cluster you find is is close enough to the original (+/- 10%), don't worry about it and adopt the new cluster's mileage as gospel and leave it at that.

as for 2004 and earlier Focii, the cluster swap can be done too, except the cluster needs to be between 2000 and 2004. Try to find a cluster out of a car with similar options too, to minimize the errant light issues as i had with the abs and traction control lights.

rob

Last edited by zxtunerdotcom; 12-01-2005 at 10:49 PM.
zxtunerdotcom is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 07:56 AM   #14
Algorhythm
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20623
Location: United Stupid of America, Nauru
What I Drive: 2005 ZX3, 2004 Kawasaki ZX6R 636

Posts: 7,492
FF Reputation: 105 Algorhythm Excellent Standing Member Algorhythm Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
Would these DMV time rolls be valid in VA by any chance, or only CA? I never heard of those. Also, are you gonna be selling clusters any time soon?
Algorhythm is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 02:35 PM   #15
blkZX32005
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 26857
Location: Phoenix, Az, United States
What I Drive: 2014 Focus Hatch

Posts: 1,803
FF Reputation: 3 blkZX32005 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
i will be all over those for my ride
__________________
FS CAI, Custom Eyelids, Silver star head lights and turns, FC Strut Bar, OBX stainless exhaust, blue interior LED's LED tail light bulbs, gold 17" Kyowa race wheels with nitto neogen tires......more to come....
blkZX32005 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 04:17 PM   #16
Algorhythm
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20623
Location: United Stupid of America, Nauru
What I Drive: 2005 ZX3, 2004 Kawasaki ZX6R 636

Posts: 7,492
FF Reputation: 105 Algorhythm Excellent Standing Member Algorhythm Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
Me too.. especially with a legal voucher. I gotta register my car in VA soon..
Algorhythm is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 05:06 PM   #17
Toolman
Focus Enthusiast
 
Toolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 27202
Location: DFW, Texas, United States
What I Drive: 2005 Ford Focus ZX3,Egg Yolk Yellow

Posts: 359
FF Reputation: 1 Toolman Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks for the nice write-up! Even though I have an ATX, I'm simply used to looking at the Tach all the time, and truly miss it on this car. I've had two MTX vehicles, including my first car - it's just automatic to glance at the Tach if you're clown stomping the pedal, doncha know. (Nobody who's driven a stick for awhile uses the Tach to shift - it's just to see how much you're abusing your engine, I think...)
I read somewhere on this forum that the reason the Tach on the Focus doesn't show a redline is simply because the stock ECU won't let you redline. Does anyone know if that's true??
Toolman is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 05:29 PM   #18
Algorhythm
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20623
Location: United Stupid of America, Nauru
What I Drive: 2005 ZX3, 2004 Kawasaki ZX6R 636

Posts: 7,492
FF Reputation: 105 Algorhythm Excellent Standing Member Algorhythm Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
You're right. I don't need a tach to shift. I want a tach so I can get gauge faces, though :(
Algorhythm is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 01:46 PM   #19
Eric D
Focus Enthusiast
 
Eric D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Fan#: 29555
Location: Olympia, WA
What I Drive: 2005 Pitch Black ZX4

Posts: 464
FF Reputation: 1 Eric D Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
where did you get your tach cluster and what about the mileage readout on the car? does that change or do you have to find a cluster that has mileage close to yours?
__________________
Performance- Custom Greddy exhaust, MM CAI, eibach sport-system, MAC lower engine mount

Looks- Black headlights, black grille, jack in the box reindeer antenna ball, eibach sport-system

BOOMS- 10" Kicker L5, some sort of Kicker AMP, some type of Panisonic cd player with XM, two 6x8 Panisonic front speakers, two rear 5x7 polk‘s
Eric D is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 07:58 PM   #20
zxtunerdotcom
Focus Enthusiast
 
zxtunerdotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 19637
Location: murrieta, ca
What I Drive: 2005 Cloud 9 White ZX3 S

Posts: 333
FF Reputation: 1 zxtunerdotcom Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
the cluster will have the mileage from whatever car it was removed from. i use car-part.com to locate clusters when i need it.

rob
zxtunerdotcom is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.