Volant installed! - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > ZETEC Performance (2000-2004)

ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) The place to chat about any 2.0L Zetec engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2005, 11:46 PM   #1
justfocus
Focus Enthusiast
 
justfocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 13961
Location: Ohio, OH
What I Drive: 09 Mazdaspeed 3 GT

Posts: 509
FF Reputation: 39 justfocus Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Volant installed!

Hey people my friend and i just put the volant in my car but we had trouble lol. Those screws holding maf house to the box would not work with us lol. So we didnt use the washer locks so we could get the thread to catch. Also the one screw looks like it went in crooked or at a slight angle but it seems to be a good fit on the box despite the crapy screw. Another question i have is why dont they have something that screws the box down like the stock one is screwed to the platform, i guess it just rests like that because the battery is up against it.I just want you people to know that my idle is not rough anymore and is smooth. The intake sounds really nice just how you guys described it with the deep growl. The only worry i have is with the one screw going in kind of crooked so holla at me if you think thats bad. Thanks all and my digital camera is broke but im going to try to get pics up some how. Later!


__________________
zoom zoom Zoom
justfocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-17-2005, 11:51 PM   #2
CKA
*~*
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Fan#: 2313
Location: somewhere, IL
What I Drive: '02 ZTS/'99 Explorer/'13 Fusion

Posts: 13,045
FF Reputation: 74 CKA Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (24)
Sounds good, show us some pics later!
CKA is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 08:51 AM   #3
hEaT
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20699
Location: Boston, MA
What I Drive: 2013 Oxford White Focus ST

Posts: 1,372
FF Reputation: 11 hEaT Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Aslong as you have a good seal between the box and the MAF you should be fine. I would check it occasionally and see if it loosens up over time or not. If it does, you could get a new screw.
__________________
ZETEC Crew #49

Quote:
Originally posted by DrkKnight614
......hmm if that works then if i put a spinner on my butt hole and rip one will i be able to run faster. ...idiots
hEaT is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 12:10 PM   #4
DrkKnight614
GO Green
 
DrkKnight614's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 14522
Location: Long Island, NY, United States
What I Drive: 2003 2.0L Grabber Green Zx3

Posts: 11,143
FF Reputation: 47 DrkKnight614 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i have a question, my crankcase tube did not stay in properly, like the tube was to short or something so i had to put some duct tape on it to make sure it doesnt pop out. Now what does this tube actually do, am i going to run into any serious problems if it wasnt on? and justfocus did yours go in ok?
__________________
My 2003 Ford Focus ZX3 - Finally realized it's a 4cyl
DrkKnight614 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 04:27 PM   #5
hEaT
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20699
Location: Boston, MA
What I Drive: 2013 Oxford White Focus ST

Posts: 1,372
FF Reputation: 11 hEaT Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
That's the breather tube. I had to wrestle it in there, but once you mess with the tube a bit, it goes in. I think it's for the PCV and oil will go through there if you have too much in the car. Also, you can get a catch can and not have it connected to the airbox.
__________________
ZETEC Crew #49

Quote:
Originally posted by DrkKnight614
......hmm if that works then if i put a spinner on my butt hole and rip one will i be able to run faster. ...idiots
hEaT is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 04:34 PM   #6
focituner
Focus Addict
 
focituner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 628
Location: Philadelphia, PA
What I Drive: 2004 ZX3 2.3 (DKG1)

Posts: 881
FF Reputation: 1 focituner Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
I had similar issues with the screws < I bought mine used and was for different application> So I went and bought some longer ones and drilled the holes all the way through. I then applied teflon tape for seal and used longer nuts and bolts to secure fitment.
focituner is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 07:48 PM   #7
justfocus
Focus Enthusiast
 
justfocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 13961
Location: Ohio, OH
What I Drive: 09 Mazdaspeed 3 GT

Posts: 509
FF Reputation: 39 justfocus Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
yeah you have to play around with the tubing. Volant is a great intake but those people arent worth shit for fitmenship. I am mad about the screws and then my friend calls me to tell me that he saw white smoke or something coming out of my exhaust?!?!!? I swear nothing comes right with cars lol. So i just started my car up to see the smoke and i didnt really see much of anything so now im freaking out haha. I think im going to run it to the dealership to see whts up. Help me out with some advice if you all can. Later!
__________________
zoom zoom Zoom
justfocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 08:10 PM   #8
DrkKnight614
GO Green
 
DrkKnight614's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 14522
Location: Long Island, NY, United States
What I Drive: 2003 2.0L Grabber Green Zx3

Posts: 11,143
FF Reputation: 47 DrkKnight614 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
^^^run it to the dealership....LOL what is that going to do. Word of advice, if you just put a mod on your car, and you think its having problems.....dont go to the dealership, they will probably just laugh at you and do nothing. One time your friend said something was coming out and you say you havent seen anything...i wouldnt worry much about it unless you actually see it and its excessive, no point in going to the dealership and having to pay for them to do nothing
__________________
My 2003 Ford Focus ZX3 - Finally realized it's a 4cyl
DrkKnight614 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2005, 09:32 PM   #9
SilvFox
Focus Enthusiast
 
SilvFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Fan#: 27795
Location: Maryland
What I Drive: 2002 Silver ZX3

Posts: 96
FF Reputation: 1 SilvFox Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
^^^ true dat. Dealerships suck as far as charging you for nothing. My mom had gotten a blub changed in her GMC Envoy and she was charged over $50. Shes not the brightest at all times
SilvFox is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.