Replacement Headunit questions - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Model Specific Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2005, 08:04 PM   #1
svt_gEEk
oldFart
 
svt_gEEk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 18578
Location: nowhere, AK
What I Drive: nothing

Posts: 11,161
FF Reputation: 3 svt_gEEk Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Replacement Headunit questions

I have a 2002 SVTF with the audiophile system and my tuner just crapped out on it 2 weeks after my warranty went out. So now I need a new headunit. I know what headunit I want, but my question is....will I lose use of my factory sub without some extra wiring on my part or do they have the harness for just plug and play?


svt_gEEk is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-05-2005, 11:59 PM   #2
sa_pyro_ne
Focus Enthusiast
 
sa_pyro_ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1437
Location: Milford, Michigan
What I Drive: 2000 Ranger V6 4.0L 4x4 XLT Ext Cab

Posts: 2,208
FF Reputation: 4 sa_pyro_ne Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
if you go aftermarket for the headunit. there are no plug and play devices that will give function to the stock subwoofer. sorry, bad luck.

- Scott
sa_pyro_ne is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 12:43 AM   #3
VAfromMN
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20592
Location: Fredericksburg, VA, VA
What I Drive: '13 Focus ST & '04 Focus SVT

Posts: 246
FF Reputation: 9 VAfromMN Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
QUICK, check with your dealer. In a lot of cases where the warranty has just expired, they'll go ahead and replace the unit anyway. If you've dealt with anybody in particular in the service department, go see them right away.
VAfromMN is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 08:47 PM   #4
PapoSwing
Regulator...mount up
 
PapoSwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Fan#: 3062
Location: Zombieland, United States
What I Drive: 03 Pitch Black SVT

Posts: 3,025
FF Reputation: 28 PapoSwing Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
^^^^^ what he said. What unit are u going with?
PapoSwing is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2005, 01:11 PM   #5
svt_gEEk
oldFart
 
svt_gEEk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 18578
Location: nowhere, AK
What I Drive: nothing

Posts: 11,161
FF Reputation: 3 svt_gEEk Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Just bought the Alpine 9853 head unit this weekend. I'm about to go see if I can make the sub work.
svt_gEEk is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 10:55 PM   #6
Driveswithfocus
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 26498
Location: 2CMBG HQ & Signals Squadron, CFB Petawawa
What I Drive: 2001 Pitch Black ZX3

Posts: 40
FF Reputation: 1 Driveswithfocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What you could do is:

Install the new HU
Run an RCA cable from the new HU to the factory amp
Cut the male ends off the RCA cables (might not have to do this depending on converter)
Splice the RCA cables to one of those line converter boxes, (low level) input side
Run the Hi Level/speaker wire end of the converter to the factory amp
Splice the new Hi level wires to the connector for the factory amp...

Might work...either that, or I'm nuts...I've never looked at the way a SVT stereo is installed from the factory, but it might be doable the way I just mentioned...your local car audio shop might know how to make something like this work...I've seen this kind of setup work in a 91 Honda prelude with the OEM HU for a freind of mine.

Worst case scenario, it won't work and you'll have to disable the factory amp and remove it, and buy a cheap sub amp to use in it's place...

Hope any of these ideas might help....
__________________
Clean is the new mean
Driveswithfocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 11:01 PM   #7
svt_gEEk
oldFart
 
svt_gEEk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 18578
Location: nowhere, AK
What I Drive: nothing

Posts: 11,161
FF Reputation: 3 svt_gEEk Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
I got it to work. I had to do kinda what was suggested. I took a single RCA cable and tied the shield and signal wires into the corresponding wires on the subwoofer/steering wheel control harness along with the remote turn on....there's a little noise but I'm gonna see if I can't get rid of that tomorrow. There is a wiring diagram for the svt HU in the sticky FAQ at the top of the audio section. Helps tremendously.
svt_gEEk is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.