Keep blowing Fuse 32 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace

Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Old 01-14-2004, 05:35 PM   #1
jhowton

Fan#:
Keep blowing Fuse 32

Hello,

I am a newbie here although I am quite active in some other automotive forums. My wife recently bought a 2001 Focus wagon (estate) with the 2.0L Zetec engine. Twice now fuse #32 (10A) has blown. This takes out the taillights, instrument panel lights, climate control illumination, gearshift illumination and rear wiper as well as some other things that we probably haven't discovered. The emergency blinkers, headlights and brakelights still work.

Any BTDT or ideas on what to check first? The first thing that came to mind is perhaps a bad headlight switch since that component seems to be common to all of the other circuits (according to the Hanes manual), but I thought I'd post here before I start changing components with reckless abandon.

She just called me and said that the fuse blew again so she replaced it with one of the ones I left in the glove compartment which immediately blew when she turned the lights on again. Help, I don't want to pay a dealer to fix this if possible.

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-14-2004, 11:01 PM   #2
liquid01
Focus Addict

Fan#: 252
What I Drive: ZX3 S2 modded--Just a touch

FF Reputation: 3 liquid01 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Check the light posts to see if any leaks(ice) is in the sockets possibly front lights........gets cold here tooo..
Old 01-15-2004, 08:35 AM   #3
jhowton

Fan#:
Thanks for the tip, I'll check it out.

Regards

Old 02-02-2004, 12:15 AM   #4
eibachzx3